Health & Wellness Articles

Healthy Habits of the SparkPeople Coaches

Get the Trade Secrets Directly from the Experts


My weekly workout routine:
DEAN: Most days I walk 2-5 miles (I don't have a car), plus 30-60 minutes on stationary biking while watching TV; 4-5 days on stair climber at gym (45 minutes); 2 days full body weight training
CHRIS: Do something active for at least 10 minutes every day; a mix of cardio, body weight exercises, anaerobic-type exercises (jump rope/sprints), and regular stretching
SARA: Now that I have a baby, I take the stroller and dog for 30-minute walks daily, do some abdominal exercises & stretches, and lift weights 2-3 times per week.
BECKY: Walk or jog 3-4 times a week; light weights with stretching 2-3 times per week
TANYA: Walk or bike 3 or 4 days a week, stepper and weight training 2 days a week
JEN: Cardio (elliptical or running) 4-5 times per week, strength training twice a week
NICOLE: Pilates 2-3 times a week, cardio (Spinning, running, walking) 4 times a week, strength training 1 day/week

My favorite type of exercise:
DEAN: Hill and mountain hiking
CHRIS: Tennis & stationary bike while reading
SARA: Anything outdoors!
BECKY: Walking the pasture, woods and fields with my dogs to check on the cattle, fencing and crops
TANYA: I love playing volleyball and team sports when time permits, which isn't often these days! I got a new bike in the fall and am really enjoying going for rides with my children.
JEN: Running!
NICOLE: Spinning or Pilates

How I got interested in health, fitness and/or nutrition:
DEAN: I didn’t have much choice! I was 52, 370 pounds, and falling apart health wise (type 2 diabetes, high cholesterol and blood pressure, arthritis, depression, etc).
CHRIS: I always liked fitness, but becoming consistent helped me break out of shyness and anxiety to reach my goals. Then I saw it as a way to help other people reach their goals!
SARA: I was active in sports throughout high school and played collegiate volleyball, so eating right and staying in shape was important for me to perform well. Through various injuries I became interested in physical therapy & sports medicine, which I do for a living.
BECKY: I was raised on a farm. We raised lean livestock, milked our own cow and made homemade butter and ice cream, had our own fruit trees, berry patches, and a huge garden for our family and neighbors. Because of the farm, my involvement in 4-H, and cooking meals for 10, I was always surrounded by food and nutrition—so I studied food, nutrition and dietetics in college!
Continued ›
‹ Previous Page   Page 2 of 4   Next Page ›

Advertisement -- Learn more about ads on this site.

Member Comments

x Lose 10 Pounds by January 8! Sign up with Email Sign up with Facebook
By clicking one of the above buttons, you're indicating that you have read and agree to SparkPeople's Terms & Conditions and Privacy Policy and that you're at least 18 years of age.