Group photo
Author:
SUPERDUPER26's Photo SUPERDUPER26 Posts: 1,553
6/18/09 2:58 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Jobs, class schedules, weekend volunteering gigs.... I count it all as a new experience potentially needing yet another adjustment in rates and ratios and food, etc.
I suppose going from one office job to another might not be so different, but I know going from a walk-around job to an office job made a BIG difference to me! Add the excitement/stress of a new job and the first week or two in my experience is always a little shaky anyhow. I'm a sucker for testing my BG, and I actually have to argue my doctor for a bigger test strip prescription because I want to test more than he thinks I need to, so I just continue to test and test and test again until I can figure out if I'm going higher or lower with any sort of pattern and then I (try to) adjust accordingly.
I know if I were to go from my desk job to an active job (or even just a not sit on your butt all day job) I'd have to lower a couple rates/ratios to stay in target and not bottom out.

In my previous non-desk job life, I worked on a fishing boat and in canneries which was he** on my BG. It was fun, but I kept blacking out and in retrospect I probably didn't belong out there, at least not with as little diabetes education as I had. I hadn't at that point ever been educated in the art/science of carb counting, nor ever given correction guidelines or ratios to work with. I'm surprised I made it through high school without serious problems, let alone managed not to die on the boat(although I got a lot of help on the boat from my BF who wasn't afraid to pour juice down my front if it meant some might make it into my mouth).
I used the money from the boat though to buy my pump (sans insurance), so I know I could do a better job of controlling my BG in such a strange environment now, but again a lot of that is just because I finally have an understanding of the actual numbers that go into things, not the vague "1 big rice crispy treat = no lows for 2 hours" math that I used to do.

Tell him congrats on the new job and good luck!
emoticon

 current weight: 173.5 
180
174.75
169.5
164.25
159
RLEEGIRL's Photo RLEEGIRL Posts: 530
6/18/09 9:57 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
I am a bartender asnd manager on duty when I work so lows for me are dangerous and not good at work, I wear a pump and have had to play around with basal patterns to get to where Im doing ok. All my fellow employees know my condition and know how to handle it,some of them know Im going low before I do and they say Test girl,Im starting CGM soon and that should also be helpful,I have had to be on the high side a few times 200 plus because I cant be in charge with the confusion of a low.My employers always give me plenty of time to test but if the place is hopping Ive got to be in the middle of it.

 current weight: 188.5 
213
197
181
165
149
MANDYB55's Photo MANDYB55 Posts: 408
6/17/09 8:21 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Hey JAQ-

Is he starting a job where he will be standing up all day and moving a lot?
I used to work at a coffee shop where I was on my feet for 8 hours a day and moving around a lot and I found that my blood sugar would drop a lot! I ended up getting low a lot during work and had to drink juice more than I would have liked to.
I am not sure if your boyfriend will experience the same thing, but what I did was lower my insulin for meals. I didn't need as much insulin because I was always on the go.

If he has the pump it may be easier to control though!

Hope that helps.

 current weight: 158.0 
180
167.5
155
142.5
130
JAQILANTERN's Photo JAQILANTERN Posts: 303
6/17/09 5:58 P

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Hi everyone! I'm hoping you all can help me get some insight on this ... my boyfriend has Type 1. He just started a new job where he uses up a lot more energy than he's used to. Today is his first day, so I have yet to get feedback about how his blood sugar levels have been holding up.

I can't help being a little concerned because (besides planned jogging and outdoorsy dates) he's lived a pretty sedentary daily lifestyle for the past 2 years. I suppose that just like with his planned workouts he would need to plan for this new job and make medication/diet alterations. I'm curious to know what you all do for a living and how you hold up when you have a physically demanding job.

I hope I don't sound too naive, but I'd love to have a feel of what it's like to live with Type 1 in all aspects of daily life and knowing about experiences outside of my boyfriends would really help. emoticon

 current weight: 164.5 
165
158
151
144
137
Page: 1 of (1)  

Report Innappropriate Post

Other Type 1 Diabetes General Team Discussion Forum Posts

Topics:
Last Post:



Thread URL: https://www.sparkpeople.com/myspark/team_messageboard_thread.asp?board=0x13537x26393186

Review our Community Guidelines