Group photo
Author:
OO0SUSIE0OO's Photo OO0SUSIE0OO Posts: 1,377
1/3/14 10:01 A

My SparkPage
Send Private Message
Reply
Welcome to the group & Happy New Year!
We live in southern CA and our income is my husband's job at Lowes working in tool department. My food budget is $50 a week and we eat a Ketogenic diet. That means low carb. My daughter has health issues and this diet works for her. I've lost 77 lbs, at 1/2 lb a week.
We eat a lot of meat & veggie meals and snack on berries, nuts & cheese. When I get extra money like a birthday money from family, I stock up on food. Sometimes we get lots of veggies from the local food bank. I do a lot of freezing then.
Best wishes in your endeavor towards a healthy you! We are here to help you!

Susie, 56, in Redlands, California
Max Lifetime Weight, 212
SP Start Weight, 207
Initial SP Goal, 130
Current Weight, 120
Goal met!!


 current weight: 0.0  under
5
2.5
0
-2.5
-5
JLEMAYCOX Posts: 11
1/1/14 1:13 P

Send Private Message
Reply
Hi. I live in MA and am a SAHM to three children (Icluding an 11 y.o with Autism and other diagnoses). We are on a pretty tight budget as our only income is my husband and son's SSI checks along with SNAP (Foodstamps). In November they cut our SNAP just as they did everyone else's. For us that cut was $43 which was quite a bit. I'm trying to lose about 40 lbs, but want to do it in a slow healthy way through exercise and eating better. I was a Vegetarian for the past three-and-a-half years, but went back to eating meat yesterday. I thought with the new year was a good time to begin eating more whole foods. As a Vegetarian I ate a lot of processed junk, was always hungry, had no enery, didn't feel well and actually gained weight. Anyways, I am glad I found you all and hope to learn how to feed my family more healthy on a budget.

 current weight: 198.0 
213
202.25
191.5
180.75
170
Page: 1 of (1)  

Report Innappropriate Post

Other Nutrition on a Shoestring Introduce Yourself to Team Forum Posts

Topics:
Last Post:



Thread URL: https://www.sparkpeople.com/myspark/team_messageboard_thread.asp?board=-1x20506x56165462

Review our Community Guidelines