VALKYRIA-
40,000-49,999 SparkPoints 40,711
SparkPoints
 

Social isolation and new job, 393.5

Saturday, May 02, 2020

Long time no blog!

A lot has happened. The highlights: I have a new, better job with way better health benefits and a bigger salary. I’m working from home until at least July. I am incredibly lucky.

I weighed in today at 393.5. Although it’s not where I wanted to be by this point in the year it IS 10 lbs down from where I started, and that’s progress!

We haven’t been able to go to the gym due to coronavirus, so we’ve been walking in the parks which is fun, but I can’t do it more than 3-4 days per week for 30 min right now. Maybe if I keep it up, I’ll be able to extend the sessions to 45 min eventually. I just feel bad because my husband (who weighs much less than me and regularly goes on 8-10 mile hikes) is slowed down by me. He says he doesn’t mind, and I know he wants to encourage me... I just miss being able to swim with him at the gym.

I am lucky enough that no one I know personally has been affected by corona yet, but I know it’s only a matter of time. My mom works at the hospital, and both of my grandmothers are in their 80s, so I worry. I try not to, but it’s hard.

When this all started, my anxiety got out of control and I couldn’t sleep well/long for weeks. I’m starting to calm down now and am adapting to our new normal, but my sleep schedule is still a bit whacked.

Things I have been doing well: drinking my water, checking my blood sugar, staying as connected as I can with friends and family, gardening and getting lots of fresh air and sunshine. Next time I post I will have some pictures of my balcony garden!

Goals:
Today: go to sleep early
This week: walk at least 3 days and cook at home everyday but one takeout meal.
This month: get into the 380s (where I haven’t been for a few years now)
Stick to my calorie and carb goals
Share This Post With Others
Member Comments About This Blog Post
 

More Blogs by VALKYRIA-