Greater than 350,000 SparkPoints 983,911

Catechism in a Year

Wednesday, July 11, 2018

224. What are the sacraments and which are they?

The sacraments, instituted by Christ and entrusted to the Church, are efficacious signs of grace perceptible to the senses. Through them divine life is bestowed upon us. There are seven sacraments: Baptism, Confirmation, Holy Eucharist, Penance, Anointing of the Sick, Holy Orders and Matrimony.

Further reading: CCC 1113-1131

225. What is the relationship of the sacraments to Christ?

The mysteries of Christ's life are the foundations of what he would henceforth dispense in the sacraments, through the ministers of his Church.

"What was visible in our Savior has passed over into his mysteries."
(Saint Leo the Great)

Further reading: CCC 461-463, 483

These excerpts are from the Compendium of the CCC
Share This Post With Others
Member Comments About This Blog Post