250,000-299,999 SparkPoints 273,064

Getting to Know Me!

Monday, January 07, 2013

"Copy and Paste into your own blog, change the answers to suit you
and help your SparkFriends get to know you."

A SP friend THINRONNA shared this on her page and it was really nice getting to know her a little better. So, I thought I'd share it with any of my friends who would like to know me better, too.
Here goes!

Where is my cell phone?
It’s sitting on the dining room table.

Yes, I'm married to Steve & we have a daughter that will be 23 in March.

Your hair?
Medium to Short. Dyed “Clove” to ‘blend away the gray.’

Your mother?
Ruth, a former High School Music Teacher, turned housewife. Mother of 6, grandmother of 7.

Your father?
Bill, a retired farmer.

Your favorite thing?
Being with my family: husband, daughter, parents, brothers, sisters & their kids, & extended family of aunts, uncles & cousins.

Your dream last night?
I don’t remember.

Favorite drink?
Unsweetened Iced Tea.

What room are you in?
Between the dining room & the living room sitting at the computer desk.

Your hobbies?
Walking, cooking, baking, gardening.

Your fear?
Being alone when I am old.

Where do you want to be in 6 years?
Still living on our farm. Growing vegetables in our High Tunnel Greenhouse and growing grapes in our vineyard. Raising cattle and poultry.

Where were you last night?
Home watching Oprah interview David Letterman on OWN.

Something that you aren't?
I’m not very adventurous. Need to take more chances.

Morning Glory or a good, fresh blueberry muffin.

Wish list item?
New flooring in our kitchen & dining room.

Last thing you did?
Made “Baked Ziti with Pumpkin & Sausage" for our evening meal tonight.

What are you wearing?
T-Shirt, hiking shorts (Yes, I know, I live in Minnesota & it’s winter, but I run hot!) tennis shoes.

Your pets?
We live on a farm. So we have outdoor dogs: 3 basset hounds: Zoey, Sophie, Boris; 2 yellow labs: Max & Lily & 2 Pembroke Welsh Corgis, Micky & Teddy. Lots of cats, a miniature horse named Sissy & a miniature donkey named Claire. And several indoor cats: Parti, Dottie, Lucy & Dewey.

I have a few close friends that I either knew growing up or worked with over the years. My sisters are my closest friends.

Your life?
My life is good. I am happily married with a grown daughter. I live in rural Minnesota that fits me to a tee. I love being able to go outdoors and have lots of space. I work part time as a Library Assistant. I left a banking career several years ago (30 years in accounting/banking). My husband & I are developing second careers for when he retires…hopefully growing vegetables for schools, restaurants, individuals. We built a high tunnel greenhouse, but lost that to a tornado in 2011. We are rebuilding this spring. We grow wine grapes. We raise beef & poultry for consumers, too.

Your mood?
Winter leaves me in a depressed state. I have to work on having a positive mood.

Missing someone?

Today, I had a diet Pepsi with lime.

Your car?
I drive a Ford F-150 Pickup truck.

Something you're not wearing?
A watch.

Your favorite store?
I enjoy going to Trader Joe’s but the closest one is over 100 miles from where I live.

Your favorite color?

When is the last time you cried?
Tuesday, January 1st when I said ‘good bye’ to my daughter at the airport as she left to go back to work in Washington DC.

Favorite place to eat?
A little Chinese Restaurant or a little Mexican about 20 miles away from where I live. They are both excellent!

Favorite place I'd like to be right now?
I enjoy going to Rapid City South Dakota and seeing to Mount Rushmore.

Share This Post With Others
Member Comments About This Blog Post
    I enjoyed reading this blog, Maria. Of course, some things I already knew, but I learned a lot of new things too, so now I feel I know you even better! I'm going to do it right now on my blog..... so check it out later!

    Thanks for being such a great friend! emoticon

    1991 days ago
    How fun to get to know you better. I might do that too. Have a super good day and week!
    1993 days ago

    Comment edited on: 1/8/2013 11:24:50 AM
    It was so great getting to know you better! I just love that part about your animals. I read them aloud to Patrick and he said it sounds like it could be set to the music from the "Twelve Days of Christmas"! My cousins lived on a farm so I can relate to so much of what you write about it. I just love getting an image of you there! Very Minnesotian of you to be wearing shorts. People from Minnesota often always thing they get their heartiness from the Scandinavian influence but let me tell you Norwegians are wimps compared to Minnesotans! They are out in it...true...but are VERY VERY layered up compared to how we dress in Minnesota!

    Maria thank you so much for sharing. You are such a terrific person and I feel so very lucky to have met you here. emoticon
    1993 days ago
    We have some things in fave color is purple too! Why is it I can never find a nice purple blouse is beyond me! My fave drink is unsweet tea took awhile to get off the sweetner/sugar, but I love it now!!
    You sure do have lots of pets! Of course, if I lived on a farm I would too, - I LOVE animals!!!
    Happy your life is good! Sounds like things are looking up for the farm! Good luck with the business!
    I am thinking of doing one of these too soon. emoticon emoticon
    1993 days ago
    Awwww, I've enJOYed learning these things about you Maria! Thanks for sharing! How fun! I can see you are blessed w/a good life, my friend!

    Happy New Year! emoticon
    1993 days ago
  • Add Your Comment to the Blog Post

    Log in to post a comment

    Disclaimer: Weight loss results will vary from person to person. No individual result should be seen as a typical result of following the SparkPeople program.