Another side by side.


Another side by side.


Happy Thanksgiving



VIOLENTGIRL is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Interact with VIOLENTGIRL
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

My Name is Dawn I'm from New Jersey and I gained a lot of weight during pregnancy and after as well. I was pretty much always overweight but after pregnancy I was considered morbidly obese. Took me 7 years to realize what I had done to myself, it was then I realized I needed a change. So in January of 2007 I joined weight watchers and really put an effort into starting to change my lifestyle. It was the first week of weigh In when I lost 9 lbs that I told myself I could do it. And ever since then I have been going strong (with some ups and downs that are really to be expected, I’m not perfect) I continue to everyday work on a healthier me, Finding out what exercise, foods, motivations and everything else in between works for me. It’s a huge investment of time and energy, most days I’m exhausted and don’t want to move but know in my mind that I have to (and to tell you the truth after my workout I feel so much better) I actually find that if I don’t have that time to myself to work out, I’m not very happy. I know that this is the best thing I could be doing for myself and never want to return to the 300’s again.

Life Changes: Friends, Family and strangers ask me frequently “How do you keep up with it?” “How do you push through?” The simple answer to this is that once I got a taste of what I was capable of doing to change my life, I was addicted. Every pound that I shed was like a new chapter of my life. One by one they kept opening and it was so powerful to be able to do simple everyday things without fear of being “to big” without being out of breath, without the fear that I was always being looked at in a negative way for letting myself get to point of 330 lbs. These days at 195 lbs I can walk without fear, sit in those white plastic chairs at bbq’s without fear of breaking them, buckle a seatbelt, ride on a plane without having to ask for a seatbelt extension, I don’t dread forgetting something and have to run back and get it, I can walk into almost any clothing store and pick something up.. And it fits! I have the energy to run around with my daughter without feeling exhausted. I can walk around with my head held high instead of down in shame. I have the most powerful outlook on life now that I can do anything I put my mind too. I have the ability to say “no thank you” when needed. And the most important thing is that I’m being a great role model for my daughter. I’m living life again. And when the question pops up “How do you do it” the answer is How could I not?

My workouts include: Walking outside (60 minutes) Bike (60 min) Leslie Sansone walk away the pounds DVD (4 mile super challenge 60 min) Treadmill, Ab Lounge, Stability ball (Still working on this) Free weights, Stretchy bands, The workout I choose fluctuates daily depending on what I feel like doing and so I dont get "bored" or "use to" the workout. I always walk 3x a week and bike at least 2x a week. I'm working on doing strength training 2-3 x weekly.

So I joined spark to hopefully make some new friends and share with others about everyday life while on a journey to better health. Feel free to leave me a message or add me as a friend. I’m always up for meeting new people and will get back to you. I'm also on AIM, Message me for my s/n, I'm always up for chatting!

Member Since: 7/1/2007

Fitness Minutes: 685

My Goals:
Weight related would get to the 180's and after that the 170's and would be verry happy around 165 which would be half of me lost!

Exercise goals would be to work out for at least 90 minutes a day, not just for the good of the exercise alone but because it relaxes me and makes me feel great. Right now I average 45 min to 60 min daily.

My Program:
Weight Watchers, I attend meetings every Saturday morning. Portion Control, Lots & Lots of water, Fresh fruit, Veggies and foods that are low in fat.

Personal Information:
Dawn: Female, 29 years old from New Jersey. Mommy to one very beautiful 9 year old daughter ( ; On a journey to a healthier me!

I'm always up for meeting new friends, especially ones who are going through the same things as me weight related so please feel free to send me a message!

Other Information:
Obsessions: Starbucks Iced Coffee, Mudvayne, Taking pictures, Music, Digital art, working out, Twilight, Halloween.

Read More About VIOLENTGIRL - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 6)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 131.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (589):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>