15,000-19,999 SparkPoints 17,061

Me early along my path with Sparkpeople.

Me at 165lbs!!!



Gold Star


VANDEMON is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Interact with VANDEMON
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

G'Day Folks, my name is Tim, I'm 24 years old and was, just before Christmas of 2008, over 100lbs overweight.

My wife, who was also overweight, though not nearly to the extent that I was, found this site and was determined to lose weight.

Through her, I snuck on the back end of the bandwagon and Sparkpeople has taken us great places. We've between us, lost over 170lbs. I weigh less than we've lost.

I've still got a little bit to go, not to get inside my healthy range, but to remove the lasts bits of the old me that I want gone. I don't know if I'll get down to my latest goal, but I'm ok with that, I'm worried less about the actual weight amount, and more about the changes I see in my body.

Sparkpeople changed my life, and it'll change yours if you put in the hard work that life demands.

Member Since: 12/27/2008

Fitness Minutes: 32,095

My Goals:
The goal I set was to get down to 200lbs by December next year.

That's a whopping 70 lbs to lose, which is a lot, but considering the disregard with which I've given my diet prior to now, maybe I can make it.

My other goal, is to be happy with ANY Success. If I lose half what I want to, I'll have made steps in the right direction, and if I knuckle down, I'll get the rest of the way!

9 Months of the way through my 12 month plan to lose weight and holy cow! 200lb has been and gone, and I'm 165lb right at the moment. I could still stand to lose a few more pounds, but I don't know that I need to reach the 155 goal that I recently set myself. I'm happy with my weight, there's just some excess that still needs to go.

I succeeded in both my goal to be happy with my successes, and to lose the weight.

My new goal is to stay strong and continue the lifestyle change that Sparkpeople has made possible.

My Program:
After going through a few months letting sparkpeople tell me how to exercise and how to eat, my wife and I expanded our program.

Now, I'm doing cardio (walking) 7 days a week, every morning for an hour or more. We do strength training, alternating between upper and lower body, with core on both days, 6 days a week, with one day to 'rest' (aka, take a longer walk!!)

We're currently eating 7 or 8 small meals per day, breaking them up into small meals constantly instead of big meals infrequently. It helped break us through a small plateau and is a lot more enjoyable to boot!

Personal Information:
Originally I'm from Launceston, Tasmania, Australia.

I moved to Washington state in the USA when I met my wonderful wife!

Other Information:

Read More About VANDEMON - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 8)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
Calling All Vegetarians & Vegans          
My Ticker:
 current weight: 181.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (81):  123Next >Last >>