See this image larger
My family and I

See this image larger

See this image larger
A few pounds ago

go to goodies page
Christmas Tree
go to goodies page
Fortune Cookie
go to goodies page

Shared Fitness Tracker
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi ,

My name is Ron. My family and I live in the great Pacific Northwest. My weight has been up and down my entire adult life but at my age its necessary to get it down and keep it down. Im as young at heart and mind as ever and I need a body that can keep pace.

Several years ago I started feeling an occasional flutter in my chest. Being a “big tough guy” I blamed it on the bean burrito I had for lunch and largely ignored the problem. I did however start a weight loss and exercise routine (started with walking) - just in case; my weight after all, was 260 pounds. About 3 years ago and having lost 40 pounds, I still had the fluttering symptoms but without a burrito to blame it on, I finally saw a Dr. and was diagnosed with atrial fibrillation and mitrel valve regurgitation. Open-heart surgery and one artificial heart valve later, I’m good as new!

I have been in a great exercise routine for about 4 years and love the gym I go to. On Monday and Wednesday I do “group power” (a 60 minute weight lifting class using relatively low weights and high reps) Tuesday and Thursday I do a 60 minute cycle-spin class. I take power walks when I can at work: my wife and I like to hike or bike on the weekends unless the weathers bad then its back to the gym.

Looking for friends who will push me and prod me and in general slap me around when I slack off! :)

Member Since: 3/6/2009

Fitness Minutes: 33,863

My Goals:
Sept 12, 2009 I reached my goal of 192 pounds which is a weight loss of 39 pounds in just over 6 months. My immediate plans are to continue to lose a few more pounds and stay within a weight range of 186 - 192. The rest of the story is that I'm now about 70 pounds lighter than 5 years ago.

My Program:
I'm up and at the gym by 5 AM most mornings. Monday's and Wed I do a 1 hour "group power" class and Tues and Thurs it's a spin/cycle for an hour. Short power walks at work and hiking and biking on the weekends.

Personal Information:

Other Information:
My interests:
I like guitars what else can I say. Besides listening to and playing them, I also enjoy building them. I have 6 completed at this time with an archtop under construction.

I'm an avid scuba diver and I love it! So far I've been certified in Open Water, Advanced Open Water, Dry Suit and Rescue, Nitrox and most recently Advanced Nitrox and Decompression Procedures through TDI. Since my diving is primarily in the cold green Pacific Northwest, I'm leaning towards the "tech" side diving. I'm thinking about starting work on Dive Master next.

Read More About TIMBREGUITARS - Profile Information moved here. (Updated April 1)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (59):  123Next >Last >>