See this image larger
Feeling like Alice in Wonderland at Reford Gardens, Gaspesie, Quebec

See this image larger
Leather Jacket for Christmas, 2006

See this image larger
Tankyushin Aikido Bokken (Sword), 2007

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Relaxation Music

Interact with TIGER1957
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm 52 years old. I am married to the man of my dreams, a wonderful, supportive husband. I also have a daughter (23), a son (22), a stepson (23) and a stepdaughter (22).

On 04/07/10, I finally reached my WW goal, once again. I had lost 100 pounds as of 19/04/07, finally reaching my WW goal (BMI 23.0). I am 5'4". Unfortunately, I was very sick the summer of 2007 with an undiagnosed lupus flare. Being almost bedridden, I put about 45 pounds of that weight back, so I had to slog away again, trying to get back to goal. Reaching goal this time, though, seems a real triumph, since I did it while on two appetite-increasing meds -- Lyrica and Prednisone. The other big challenge was to stay on program when I was unable to exercise at various times. During those periods, I focused primarily on nutrition, since that was one thing that I had some control over.

I practice martial arts (Tankyushin Aikido ... a combination of Aikikai, Karate, Judo, Jujutsu and a few other martial arts), take ballroom dance lessons with my husband, and work out at the gym and at home. I have a lot of beachbody, tai bo and other dvds to use in order to augment or switch up my workouts, depending on how I'm feeling.

I enjoy being active, fit and healthy, in spite of having to deal the following chronic diseases/conditions: systemic lupus erythematosis (SLE), otherwise known in common vernacular as systemic lupus, fibromyalgia, chronic fatigue syndrome (CFS), GERD and osteoarthritis. I have gradually built up my workouts in intensity to the point where I can manage those conditions most of the time, although I am now struggling a bit to manage the lupus part of this equation, along with the fibromyalgia and chronic fatigue. The odd flare-ups do occur, as do sports injuries (usually related to the martial arts which I normally practice 2-6x per week). One of my big problems is not listening to my body, overdoing things or overtraining, and then collapsing big-time, thereby ensuring more time off than I might have if I'd paced myself better.

Pacing remains a challenge for me, but I am improving over time. Learning to live well, despite my health challenges, has been a journey of discovery. I will continue to live life to the fullest, as I strive to stay as healthy as I can, while maintaining my weight loss.

If I can do it, anyone can do it!

Member Since: 9/21/2006

My Goals:
Martial arts goals:
White belt -- Age 47 (Yup)
Yellow belt -- Age 48 (05 April 06)
Orange belt -- Age 49 (19 June 07)
Green belt -- Age 50 (20 June 08)
Blue belt -- Age 52 (27 March 10)
Purple belt -- Age 53
Brown belt -- Age 54
Black belt -- Age 55
Hey, dreams are free, aren't they?
I dream BIG!

My Program:
I follow the Weight Watchers program with some tweaks ... essentially, I track all calories but eat mostly core or low GI foods.

Personal Information:
Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

Other Information:
Come grow old along with me. The best is yet to be.
~ Robert Browning

Read More About TIGER1957 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated July 4)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
My Ticker:
 current weight: 136.5 
Login to Leave Comment
    Hi and welcome to the Fighting Fibro team. Congratulations on your weight loss. That is phenomenal. I started at 232 and 140 is what I'm aiming for. 64 lbs to go. Glad to see that being physically active is still a reality even with fibro. My dream is to be able to work out for more than 30 minutes without crashing. Your page is very inspiring for me. Let's me know that I can do it, too.

    5211 days ago
Member Comments (51):  << First< Previous91011