THURIT

SparkPoints
 
Photos
See this image larger
Me, when my 6th child was 2. This is the me I'd like to get back to...



See this image larger
virtual me at 263



See this image larger
goal projected me... (from www.myvirtualmodel.com)


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Rose
From:
CANDYCANE4049
go to goodies page
Happy Face
From:
SHARON_AHAUS
go to goodies page
Jack-O-Lantern
From:
SHARON_AHAUS
Awards

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with THURIT
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


I'm living in Arizona with my wonderful husband Dennis (third time's the charm for both of us). I have six grown children and three delightful granddaughters. I've always had a strong creative side and once made everything for my kids, from undies to overcoats (not to mention toys and quilts). They always liked my stories and one day dared me to get some published, which I did: one for each child. Now I build little boxes made of beads (some of which you can see if you like on etsy.com (search Carrie Kilgore)).

I'm basically a cheerful person who loves life and believes happiness is within reach (although I must admit it requires a real stretch to grasp at times). My mantra? Love myself and the world...

Post-polio, fibromyalgia, nerve damage...after 8 hospitalizations this past year, I want to lose weight and get some strength back.


Member Since: 5/13/2008

Fitness Minutes: 2,425

My Goals:
I want to get as healthy and strong as possible. I know I will always have limitations, but there's no situation that won't respond to concerted effort to improve.

10% goals:
#1--27 lbs (245)
#2--25 lbs (220)
#3--22 lbs (198)
#4--20 lbs (178)
#5--18 lbs (160)


My Program:
I have a wonderful bunch of doctors and therapists who continue to support me in very positive ways. I will be continuing the good eating habits I have, and will continue to slowly increase my physical activity while learning to pay closer attention to what my body is telling me.



Personal Information:
Chaotic, abusive childhood, including battle with polio. Thumbed my nose at medicos who said I'd never be able to hold down a fulltime job, would never carry a baby to term, would be in a wheelchair by age 40. Ended up being a single mom of 6 wonderful kids and now at 55 I only get in a wheelchair when we go to IKEA.

Despite medication that made me really pack on the weight when pregnant, I always took it off easily. A decade ago I started gaining mysteriously...this last year with 8 hospitalizations has dropped my metabolism harshly, so now I have more than 100 pounds to lose.


Other Information:
I'm so grateful to the psychiatrist who helped me deal with childhood abuse and helped me integrate (I was diagnosed with Multiple Personality Disorder). He told me once that he'd seen lots of people with traumatic backgrounds, and some were lucky enough to rise above it and some were not. But what he noticed about the lucky ones was that they were always looking around for opportunity and grabbing at even the smallest chance to help themselves.




Read More About THURIT - Profile Information moved here.




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 263.0 
272
244
216
188
160
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (17):  123Next >Last >>