250,000-299,999 SparkPoints 278,986


Camping 2012

my kitchen




Mini Trampoline

Interact with TERRIJ7
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Hi, I'm Terri J and I am:
Married 43 years to the man of my dreams--honestly!
Mother of 7, with all the children out on their own, 4 married, one engaged.
Grandmother (Nanny) to 15 (so far). Our first great grandchild is now a year old.

I've been with Spark for a long time and have lost and regained more than once. Two foot surgeries kept me from walking, which is my cardio exercise of choice and I just slowly put the weight back on--and then some. Since the surgery, I've had an ankle injury and now plantar fasciitis that makes walking for very long--or fast--painful.

I'm not giving up, though! I'm still here and staying in contact with my teams and the friends I've made here. I have learned so much about what constitutes a healthy lifestyle from Spark People that I don't think I'll ever be able to ignore my health again. I WILL get back on track and regain the ground I've lost in strength and stamina and I will re-LOSE this weight and more. I'm not in a hurry--I have the rest of my life to get it done!

Member Since: 10/29/2008

My Goals:
My immediate goal is to be able to move! I want to be strong enough and flexible enough to live my life and enjoy my family.
I want to take this weight off so I don't have to pack it around. I don't have any health issues and I'd like to get rid of the extra weight before I develop any!

*My first goal is to get my weight below 200 lbs.
*Next, to get my BMI below 30--out of the obesity range.
*I'd like to eventually participate in a walk/run event

My Program:
I am committed to walking at least 15 minutes a day, 5x per week. As my feet will allow, I will increase this.

I will watch my portions and try to eat smaller meals, more often, ie: 300-500 calorie meals 4 or 5 times a day with lean protein, complex carbs, and as little fat as is practical for someone who likes meat.

Personal Information:
I'm not one to share much personal information in this kind of venue, but will say that I do enjoy meeting people and interacting with friends.
My husband is my best friend in the whole world and the delight of my life. We've been married since we were kids and are now enjoying his retirement. We don't travel (much), but enjoy having more time together, helping our kids with their home projects and spending time with the grandchildren.
One of my favorite things to do is planting trees and watching them grow. I like marking time by growing things.

Other Information:
I don't lose weight easily! I never used to gain it easily, either, until I began to go through menopause...now I have to work out just to stay even!
I've had problems with my feet and have had reconstructive surgery on one of them.
I had a second surgery to remove the screws that were causing some pain, and all of that really got me off my walking regimen! I've gained back the entire 25 lbs I had lost +10 more!
I'm starting from scratch with the Spark program except that I now have all the information I need. I KNOW what I have to do and simply need to get started. I will take baby steps and build my strength and habits slowly.
I've been up and down on the scale and in activity.
An ankle injury and months of PT and healing.
Time to start from where I am and do what I am able to do. The body doesn't heal and recover as quickly as it used to. Now dealing with plantar fasciitis in my other foot.

Read More About TERRIJ7 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated July 25)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
My Ticker:
 April Minutes: 796
Login to Leave Comment
    Yu really do lead an interesting life! Lynda
    356 days ago
    Thanks for your sweet comment about our new house!! If you ever find yourself in our part of the country (SC), I'd be delighted to have you come visit, and we can sit and rock on that wonderful porch!!

    Hmmmm ..... SP needs an emoticon of a rocking chair!

    Carolyn B in SC
    363 days ago
    Thank you so much for your lovely comment on my blog about my mother... It helped more than I can say, thank you again! emoticon
    363 days ago
    Thanks for your nice comment on my recent blog! .... emoticon ...And may you have a wonderful day!
    368 days ago
    I've thoroughly enjoyed your pictures!! You clearly are one amazing woman!!! Love the inside of your log home, but I couldn't handle all the stairs! LOL!! I agree with you wholeheartedly when you posted the other day that you don't mind getting older, but you do object to falling apart!! That is exactly the way I feel!! I'm guessing you and I must be withing a couple of years of each other in age. I will be 59 next month (married for 39 of those years!) and my arthritis has gone into overdrive the last year or two. Gotta get this weight down and ease those creaking joints!
    emoticon emoticon emoticon

    Carolyn B in SC
    370 days ago
Member Comments (490):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>