See this image larger
A lifestyle change I can live with!!!!

See this image larger
Brenda and I were excited to complete the minimaraton. Brenda is an excellent walking partner.

See this image larger
8/3/2010 20 pounds lighter! WooHoo!!

go to goodies page
Flower Pot
go to goodies page
Miss You
go to goodies page

Shared Fitness Tracker
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am 37 married to a wonderful husband. I have 3 children that are quickly growing up and a grand baby.

My weight problem stems from poor eating habits and not enough exercise, consistently. I typically eat 1 meal per day. So my body thinks there isn't enough food available and I am going to starve. Therefore, my body stores everything I eat as a fat reserve and slows down my metabolism in order to burn less calories.

My plan is to consistently eat smaller meals more frequently. These meals consist of 3 oz of protein, and a half cup of complex carb. For breakfast I also have 1 serving of fruit and for lunch and dinner I add 1-2 cups of vegetables. And for a bedtime snack I typically do a red grapefruit. My goal is to exercise 3-5 days per week for 30 to 60 minutes. I try to change up my exercise routines so that I can exercise different muscle groups.

The most important thing for me as I perform my diet/exercise routine is that I make changes that I can live with for the rest of my life.

7/27/10 So far I have found that I love biking. Salads at dinner time work great for the whole house especially if everyone can pick their own vegetable toppings. Grilled pork tenderloin tastes awesome and is low fat.

Member Since: 2/12/2008

Fitness Minutes: 9,156

My Goals:
I want to be able to walk the 2.4 mile Cherokee park loop in under 40 minutes - my current time is 45 minutes (3/13/11), I started off at like 52 minutes on 6/14/10. So 45 minutes is a much better start for this year.

I want to be able to bike the 2.4mile Cherokee Park loop (including the 2 huge hills). 7/20/10 and 8/9/10 - I completed this goal - WooHoo!!! Now I want to do it again, but better!!! I was really huffing on that second hill.

I want to be able to fit back into the size 14's that I own. 7/27/10 - From size 18 to size 16. 3/10/11 down to size 14. But my 14's that I wore a few years ago are still to tight.

My long term goals are:
Lose 50 pounds and keep it off. (10 down 6/28/10, 18 down 7/27/10, 24 down 2/2/11)

Be at a healthy BMI. That is under 159 pounds for me. I have stepped down from an obese BMI to an overweight BMI.

My Program:
I am trying to make lifestyle changes that I can stick to. I am willing to lose the weight slowly this time in order to do it right. My program is to eat 5-6 small meals/snacks per day. My meals include 3-4 oz of lean meat, 1-2 C of vegetables, and 1 small serving of complex carb (no white flour). My snacks include a complex carb and protein. And complete 30 to 60 minutes of cardio exercise 3-5 days per week. I have not added weight training in yet. I started adding in some dumbells 2/1/11.

Personal Information:

Other Information:
On April 26, 2008, I accomplished a great goal. I walked 13.1 miles in a minimarathon. I finished in 3 hrs and 49 minutes. It was extremely invigorating. I would highly encourage anyone who is thinking about taking on such a challenege to go for it, and bring along a partner.

Read More About TERESAS_JOURNEY - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 17)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 190.2 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (85):  123Next >Last >>