30,000-39,999 SparkPoints 32,345

After my very first 5K - the annual Turkey Trot in Davis, CA (Nov 2010)

Summer 2009 - we love to camp and cook and eat outdoors!

April 2011


Best Wishes

High Five

Gold Star

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

I became a runner 10/10/2010. I LOVED it! I really wanted to run a marathon and started with a 5K, working my way up to a half marathon, which I did annually in 2011, 2012, and 2013. I signed up for a Big Sur Trail marathon in the fall of 2012 (I would be 45 years old at that time) and trained steadily, increasing my distance until I was jogging 20 miles with short walk breaks. I was sure I was ready! But where I live (near Sacramento) is very flat and the marathon course was not. I only made it half way and was proud of having accomplished that because it was so difficult, but discouraged because I still hadn't run a marathon. My training fell off and when I started training again early in 2013 I developed pain and swelling in my left knee. That was even more discouraging and over the next year I gained back about 20 pounds. :( Just lately my two daughters and I have been walking/jogging the track at the nearby high school and even started walking up and down the stadium stairs (my knee seems to be holding up - or maybe it's just that my thighs and calves are so sore I don't notice any knee pain!) and we're planning on running a 10K in San Francisco in September and another 10K in northern CA in October. So far so good with the training and I still might have a shot at a marathon at some point. I have a friend that tells me a marathon is an older person's sport anyway because you develop endurance as you age. I should have loads of endurance by the time I'm ready to do a marathon!

Member Since: 4/11/2011

Fitness Minutes: 26,112

My Goals:
to get to and maintain a healthy weight. I want to look and feel comfortable with my body. I also want to keep training to run - 5K, 10K, 12K, half- and full marathons

My Program:
Training with my daughters to run (or jog/walk) two 10Ks later this year. Push-ups, crunches. Begin strength training for my legs, arms, and core.
Tracking my food intake and making healthier food choices. Adjust my relationship with carbs :(

Personal Information:
My name is Teresa, I am from Woodland, California and I am 47 years old. I have 4 children, 2 dogs, 2 cats, and a bird. (Actually only the kids and the bird are mine, the rest belong to my offspring)

Other Information:

Read More About TERESANAVARRO - Profile Information moved here. (Updated May 28)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 157.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    I hope you have an amazing weekend! Any plans? :)
    2198 days ago
    Thanks so much! You too!
    2198 days ago
    Hey lady, how's your week going? :)
    2200 days ago
  • v KNH771
    Thanks for dropping by my blog and taking the time to leave a comment behind! I appreciate the encouragement.
    2201 days ago
    Happy Hump Day..
    **++ Just ++**
    ++** shining up **++
    **++ YOUR Day ++**
    ++** with **++
    **++ Best Wishes ++**
    ++** to YOUR **++
    **++ continued SUCCESS ++**

    .•*´`•.¸ .•*´`•.¸ .•*´`•.¸ .•*´`•.¸ .•*´`•.¸ .•*´•.¸ .•*´`•.¸
    .•*´`•.¸ .•*´`•.¸ .•*´Show Your•*´`•.¸ .•*´•.¸ .•*´`•.¸
    .•*´`•.¸Determination & Accountability•.¸ .•*´`•.¸
    .•*´`•.¸ .•*´`•.¸ .•*´`•.¸ .•*´`•.¸ .•*´`•.¸ .•*´•.¸ .•*´`•.¸
    2206 days ago
Member Comments (72):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>