TCROSSBAR

SparkPoints
 
Photos
See this image larger
June 22nd, 2010. New Haircut. Got grief about the last picture. >.>


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Snowflake
From:
LOVEAZ
go to goodies page
Sports Equipment
From:
ANDYINBC
go to goodies page
Candy Cane
From:
NACHOSMAMA
Awards

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with TCROSSBAR
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


My ex sort of pointed me toward this site (before she'd left me), as at the time she was trying to lose some extra weight that she had put on since coming to America (she's British and was slender pretty much until our American ways polluted her poor body). She's at a healthy BMI last time I saw her, though I don't know if she's keeping it up.

I, on the other hand, have always struggled with obesity. I started gaining weight in second grade, and by junior high was already over 200 pounds (morbidly obese by 12, yay.)

In High School I started riding for several ranchers up on national forest, taking care of cattle, and the hard work brought my weight down to a much more healthy level; but I continued to put on the pounds every winter and work them off every summer.

After High School I joined the Army, but had to tape-test in (because I was not within the range of normal weight for my height), and even struggled keeping my weight down during training! After leaving the Army it wasn't really surprising that I started gaining weight almost immediately.

Five years ago, right after my 30th birthday, I quit smoking 'cold turkey' (had my first cigarette at 8 years of age) and that accellerated my weight gain even more to the point that I hardly recognize myself in the mirror (when I actually can bring myself to look into one)- in spite of having lived with this ballooning problem for 5 years now.

So now I'm 35, and am working extremely hard to reclaim my life and my health!


Member Since: 1/26/2010

Fitness Minutes: 0

My Goals:
My primary (as in first, not most important) goal is to be able to wear clothing from any store, not just special ordered clothing from fat-guy stores. ...I think I can consider this met.

I also want to be able to have the athleticism that I once enjoyed so that I can do the things I've always enjoyed doing and wanted to do.
Ultimately, though, my goal is to not be overweight for the first time in my rememberance.


My Program:
I'm on the bodybugg program, and I limit my caloric intake to about 1200 to 1300 calories per day, with one 'cheat day' a week where I still try to eat healthy foods, but allow myself more leniency. I also have completely re-evaluated the types of foods that I eat, moving to whole foods- learning to prepare them (I'm a terrible cook), and eating as many fresh fruit and vegetables as I can manage within my caloric budget.
I don't work out as hard as I was when I started, but I eat less now, too, and am more meticulous with my calorie intake. I still try to get in activity regularly, but with my impending divorce, I don't have a gym membership anymore.



Personal Information:
I'm originally from Colorado, and now live in Arizona. I have two children from another marriage that also live in Arizona.


Other Information:




Read More About TCROSSBAR - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 19)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
SparkTeams
 
 
 
 
 
My Ticker:
 current weight: 278.0 
402
349
296
243
190
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (53):  123Next >Last >>