Gold Star

Happy Face

Fruit Salad
Money Matters f...

Interact with SUNNYCHER
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

My name is Cher. I've fought a battle with weight for a good portion of my life. I started gaining in my late 20's, joined ww's and reached goal and maintained for 9-10 yrs. But once I hit 40 the battle began. The last 2 decades I've lost and gained so many times it's hard to count. Now that I'm 60 I need to get it off and keep it off. What I've really come to understand is that I need to do some "self care". Put myself first...or at least near the top of that list. At this point I'm not sure if the "I don't have time to exercise and plan my meals" is just an excuse I use or real. But I am sure that I must find ways to take that time that I need to care for myself and that in return I will better my health, have greater energy and therefore be of more help to those around me.

I'm amazed at this site and there are some amazing spark people that have already inspired me just reading their pages! So I'm hoping it rubs off and I can make some changes in my life and while doing so lose some weight, well actually a lot of weight would be great! So glad I found Spark People.

Member Since: 1/6/2010

Fitness Minutes: 1,236

My Goals:
My first short term weight goal is 10 lbs by Valentines Day.....Missed the date but acheived the goal on 2/16/2009

Learn & practice Reiki - on my way - Reiki 1 taken 2/26/2010

Lose 15 lbs by 4/30/10

Strengthen leg muscles to reduce stress on knees.

Walk a 15min mile by July 4th.

Lose enough weight to be able to wear shorts without scaring myself!

My Program:
Daily meditation on the precepts:

Just for today
Do not anger
Do not worry
Be filled with gratitude
Devote yourself to your work
Be kind

Daily Reiki self treatment

Sticking to the program by tracking my food is #1 priority, I know this works for me.

Cut back red wine on Friday night out to 2 glasses.

Exercise daily, plus walk 15 min on treadmill at moderate rate after dinner instead of going right to bed or recliner!

Drink at least 8 glasses of water - the one thing I usually do daily anyway.

Take necessary supplements and vitamins daily - I've been bad on this lately.

Personal Information:
I'm from upstate NY, around the Saratoga region.I'm married to a great guy (41yrs) and have 1 daughter and 1 GD.

I retired from a 26yr career in the appraisal business to care for my granddaughter and take care of my daughter's household while she is away on business. She's a source of great joy, fun and abounds with energy while mine is waning. So I really need to get back into shape.

Other Information:
I love to read and really need to make more time to do that.

Love music...classic rock and blues are favorites. Can't go wrong with anything Springsteen, Stones or Gary Moore.

I enjoy art in many forms. My current passion has been painting on glass.

Have a great interest in eating "real food" which is probably part of my weight problem.

Read More About SUNNYCHER - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 5)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 24.2 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (6):  12Next >