STACIJ40
40,000-49,999 SparkPoints 41,075
SparkPoints
 
Photos

Aug '13 (then); Feb '14 (now)




My son the Firefighter! So proud of him! Oct. 2013




My Fabulous Family Oct. 2015


SparkGoodies

Sunshine
From:
STACIJ40

Pedometer
From:
STACIJ40

Flowers
From:
IOWADEB
Awards

 
Interact with STACIJ40
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


I was diagnosed a little over a year ago with breast cancer. There are four girls in my immediate family and I am the third one to be diagnosed. We were all caught in different stages. My sister that is two years older than me was diagnosed at her first mammogram at age 40. She had a lumpectomy, chemo, and radiation. My oldest sister was 60 when she was diagnosed. She had a lumpectomy and radiation. I was diagnosed at 52. I had chemo, a mastectomy, radiation and am currently waiting for reconstruction.

I can't stress enough that if something doesn't seem right, get a second opinion. No one knows your body as well as you do yourself. I had been seeing our local breast care specialist and he kept diagnosing as mastitis - even though I had nipple discharge and you could feel a pretty large lump (also the doctor that took care of my oldest sister and also knew that I had another sister that had breast cancer). He prescribed antibiotics and said that the lump would take a while to go away and that it was probably just fluid. I had asked him in May to do an MRI and he said that he couldn't because insurance wouldn't cover it since he could see what he needed to on his ultrasound. When I went to my family doctor in October, she referred me to the university hospital about an hour away. They did the MRI and you could see that my breast was full of cancer all along the lower portion. The lump that I was feeling was a 6cm tumor bed that they found when I had my surgery (and that was after chemo to shrink it).

They couldn't say for certain whether or not they got all of the cancer cells and I am at a higher risk for recurrence. But, I don't dwell on that. I'm still with this world and am enjoying every day that I have. Both of my sisters are still fine and haven't had any recurrence - I figure that if I take care of myself, I should be the same!


Member Since: 3/11/2009

Fitness Minutes: 24,991

My Goals:
Get to 183.


My Program:
- Logging onto SP every day.
- Using the Nutrition and Fitness trackers.
- Drink 8 glasses of water per day.
- Get some type of physical exercise each day.



Personal Information:
I was born and raised in Iowa. I have three kids and three grandkids. I work for a technology company. My ideal job would have been to be a stay-at-home mom; but, sometimes things don't work out as you'd like but you have to roll with the punches and adjust!

I come from a large family. I have 4 brothers and 3 sisters. My father passed away in 1978 of melanoma skin cancer and my mother passed away in 2007. She'd had a debilitating stroke and also had diabetes, high blood pressure and high cholesterol. I'd like to start living a healthier life so that she will feel better knowing that her kids learned something from taking care of her.


Other Information:




Read More About STACIJ40 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 5)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:


My Program:


Personal Information:


Other Information:


Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
My Ticker:
 current weight: 199.6 
 
205
198.75
192.5
186.25
180
Login to Leave Comment
Comments