50,000-59,999 SparkPoints 51,998

Summer bounty

Fall where I live

Baby blanket made for neighbor's baby


Watering Can

Easter Basket


Interact with PEEDLE
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Welcome to Peedle's Place

Peedle was my sister's nickname when she was a child. Her given name is Helen. I chose to use it because it is different. And to kind of honor her, as we had not seen much of each other for over 40 years, and have recently gotten reacquainted since her hunsband died. It makes me happy to get to know my sister after all this time.
We play a lot of "remember when".
I am single (since I was 35) and have 3 grown children - 2 sons and a daughter, six grandchildren and five great-granchildren.
I retired almost 11 years ago; I worked in an accounting department for a major transportation company. I was in no hurry to retire, thinking I would be bored, and maybe lonely. A friend told me not to be concerned, that I probably would not find enough time to do everything I wanted to do. That did not make sense to me then, but does now. It was not hard to fill my time and have enjoyed my retirement much more than I ever anticipated.
One of my pastimes was my flower garden, but since I bought my condo, do not have any yard, so can only do some container planting when the weather permits.
I like to knit, crochet, read, make my own greeting cards, play Mahjong.
Above was written when I joined, in 2008. Some health issues have since curtailed some of my activities, no longer doing volunteer work at church, or doing Bible studies (cannot sit for long) but have added stretching exercise class twice a week, plus learned to play Mahjong.
My sister and I still get together once a month or so (distance of about 40 miles separates us), and talk on the
phone every day. She has become my bestest friend (yes, I know I spelled that the way little kids say it).
Illness has caused her to lose weight, and she now weighs less than me (never before in our lives!) And I have gained, at least partly because I can no longer be very active.
But haven't given up..............and I won't!!

Member Since: 9/4/2008

Fitness Minutes: 27,904

My Goals:
Ideally, to get down to 130 lbs. Would happily settle for 135.

My Program:
Watching my intake of carbs, very little fried foods and trying to overcome my

constant desire for sweets by eating fruits daily. Trying not to snack in the evenings, that is when I am most vulnerable.

Personal Information:
From St. Louis area. Mother of 3, gm of 6, ggm of 5. Retired 4 yrs ago. Am a Christian with mostly church-based activities. Limited income doesn't allow traveling etc, but manage to keep busy. Seem to be addicted to reading and saving recipes???? (seldom try them, tho) No pets, no husband, no worries (?) Just a little bit zany; love humor (clean, that is). Unfortunately, I am a procrastinator who is going to do everything (tomorrow!)

Other Information:
Favorite book - the Bible. Also read a news magazine to keep up with what's going on and not having TV sound bites be my main source. Read several other mags, Readers Condensed Digest books, spiritual books and mags. Attend Bible Study classes, flexibilty-based exercise class designed for arthitis sufferers, meet with other women at local library to knit and crochet (& gab) and keep my eyes open for other local activities of interest to my age group. Visits with family limited due to distance (and everyone is so busy!) so I made a determination a long time ago to "entertain" myself and not be dependent on others (unless I have to be). Have some wonderful friends and my family loves me & I them - who could ask for anything more?

Read More About PEEDLE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 22)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 163.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (241):  123Next >Last >>