30,000-39,999 SparkPoints 32,661

Me - Curacao, Jan 2011

Me - St. Thomas, Jan 2012

Me - Dec 2012, approx 20 lb weight loss!


Workout Clothes

Yoga Mat

Thank You Card

Interact with PASTORJO
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

"I will do what I need to do, in order to do what I want to do."
Jason Anderson, Certified Personal Trainer

"If you focus on results, you will never change. If you focus on change, you will get results." ~Jack Dixon (SparkPeople)

I've been a SP member for since June 2011. I'm now 60, turn 61 on the 30th of Sept. Type 2 Diabetes ok, not great. I've gained some weight...staying at the 200 lb level. I joined a gym and am doing strengthening exercises and cardio 3 days a week, cardio only 2 days. I'm still a full time pastor, loving living in Santa Fe New Mexico

I will return to logging what I eat, and exercising faithfully.

Member Since: 6/5/2011

Fitness Minutes: 37,471

My Goals:
1) exercise regularly
w/walking 2 days a week and other strength building exercises 3 days a week
2) be a positive roll model to my daughter (22)
3) Lose 10% of my body weight (20 lb) by end of the year 2017
4) Reduce A1C to below 6

My Program:
Sept 1, 2017

1) Walk at least 8000 steps a day, 5 days a week
2) Strength training 3 days a week, rotating legs, upper arms, and chest, using equipment at Fitness Plus gym
3) track and log food on SP
4)use Urban Leaf to track via Apple Health

Personal Information:
I am a Lutheran pastor, married for 35 years and a mother to 3; our youngest and only daughter is 22. Our son was married in April of this year, in Vietnam, where he lives

I love to read and am more 'in my head' than physical, as is my husband, so I have to be intentional about getting exercise.

Other Information:
I learned about SparkPeople from The Spark, which I loaded onto my Kindle (I LOVE)...

Read More About PASTORJO - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 4)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 198.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    My parishioners had a son teaching in Korea last year. He is teaching in China now. He come home for visit when he was teaching in Korea, but they decided to visit him in China. It was a great trip. The eight hour drive to my daughter doesn't seem so far now!
    2456 days ago
    My first born is 27 and in grad school, so I am not entirely new to the off to college experience. My daughter is, shall we say, less focused? She is also at a school which is much further away. She has a significant scholarship that she will lose if her grades drop, so there is a little concern on that front as well.

    This daughter is also my husband's first born, and it has been stressful for him.
    2456 days ago
    After returning from churchwide we dropped my daughter at college. She is a freshman, and the school is 8 hours from our home, so it was a little traumatic for mom.

    Between that, and a hurricane, I also was knocked a little off my running schedule. I really disappointed myself this morning by only running half as along and half as far as I had intended. I'm planning to add an extra run this week and see if I can get myself back on track.

    My youngest went back to school today (11th grade), so like you, I am hoping to get a healthy fall routine started.

    2458 days ago
  • v PVP1958
    Congratulations on hitting 5,000 points. Hang in there. It really does change your life. emoticon
    2460 days ago
    I'm back from Orlando. I kept up with my couch to 5K program and didn't over eat, so I'm pleased with choices I made. I didn't have any input about what was on my plate, but despite the dressings and sauces, I stayed close to the same weight, so I'm relatively satisfied. I'm very glad to have internet again. I'm back to logging today!
    2465 days ago
Member Comments (40):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>