Best Wishes

The Spark

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with NOVAAMAN
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

My name is Nova. I am a 38 year old mother to two boys, ages 6.5 and 3.5. They were both winter babies. My mother, who is disabled and elderly (70) lives with us also. I promised my dad I would not put her in a home. We have 2 dogs, 3 cats and one fish... I can't believe the fish is still alive!

I have a small hobby farm that I am working on growing a bit bigger every year. We started out with just a garden with a few produce plants, and have added chickens for both eggs and meat. My birds free range all day long and give me the most delicious eggs. I gross out at store eggs... Not kidding. It just isn't the same. We process cockerels (young roosters) for the dinner table. I also raise meat birds. Those are the ones you buy in the poultry case at your local super-market. The difference, mine are raised in the out doors on grass, bugs, and feed. The taste is unbelievable!

I love my chickens, they are pets with benefits. I even love the cockerels that we eat. I raise them with care and respect. I want them to have a good life before they contribute to my good life.
I hope to add a few milking goats with in the next year, possibly a few guinea hogs.

SO, between the my kids, my mom, the birds, the dogs, work, and life in general, I have neglected my own health. My whole family is filled with big people. A lot of those family members have diabetes, heart conditions, joint issues. I am starting to feel the effects of the weight on my joints and my feet. I do not want to be hunched over and crippled up or possibly dead because I continue to neglect my well being.

I have 120 pounds to lose in reality. I am not aiming that high yet. That number is really daunting. I am aiming in goals of 2 pounds a week. By next summer I'd like to be able to run. I'd really like to buy some clothes that fit right. AND I want to be able to look in a full length mirror and smile.

Member Since: 7/4/2006

Fitness Minutes: 471

My Goals:
Lose 2 pounds a week
Run by next summer
Maintain changes

My Program:
I am starting with walking every day. I can do this one easy enough now that my oldest is back to school. I will work up to adding jogging intervals.

3 days a week of beginner strength training.

Change these as I gain in strength and endurance.

Personal Information:
From Holland, MI, born and raise for the most part.

Two sons, too many animals ot count.

Other Information:
I listen to a lot of audio books while I work. I'd prefer to just read them... BUT to much to do...

I don't watch a lot of grown up tv... 2 kids... need I say more.

I like to learn new things, and am usually open to new ideas.

Read More About NOVAAMAN - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 7)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 228.0 
Login to Leave Comment