I was SO happy this day--May 19, 2006--215 lbs.

I HATE this picture. Ug! May 2007--graduation from graduate school--240 lbs.

And I thought I was super fat then--May 2005--190 lbs.


Welcome Mat

New Hairstyle


Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with MRSHERNANDEZ55
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

The title for my page comes from a nickname one of my very good friends gave me. You see, I am an all-too-typical Virgo with a penchant for all things domestic and motherly. Cut out an ad from any 50s women's magazine and I would fit right in, down to the apron and pearls. I am a woman's woman, a girly girl, a lover of life and of Christ. I am an organized, put together least most of the time. I am happy with my marriage, I am happy with my job, and overall, life is good. Except for one thing.
Well, I am 27, and terribly out of shape. I'm tired of feeling...well, blah all the time. I have an almost 18 month old daughter and the pregnancy and months that followed were not good to my body. I have yo-yoed in the low 200s for some time now, but it has been at least 6 years since I was under 200 pounds.
I was very bad to my body in my early 20s--overeating, smoking, drinking, not exercising at all. You can see it in my face. I was always ridiculed for my weight growing up but I look back and see that I was a "good" size for my body type, and I know that I can be that way again, but I've got to dedicate myself totally to that mission. I want to get as close to my high school weight (160 pounds) as possible before having another child.

*May 2002: graduated high school, 160 lbs, size 9/10

*June 2003: after a year of college I went on to lose 25 pounds for my sister's wedding, was at 155 lbs, size 9/10

*February 2004: weight began to creep on, was between 160-170 lbs, began smoking/drinking socially, super-stressed, living the college life, size 12

*July 2005: met my future husband, weight at 190-200 lbs, still smoking/drinking socially, in grad school, wearing between a size 12 and 14

*February 2006: realized I was at 225-230 lbs, dropped down to 215 for my wedding in May, wore a size 14W wedding dress.

*July 2007: at what was my heaviest, 242 lbs. Wearing a size 16-18. Quit taking the pill. Quit smoking. Modified diet substantially. Began a series of hormone treatments for pregnancy.

*January 2008: began smoking again. Quit drinking regular soda. Modified diet again.

*May 2008: quit smoking, again. Got on sparkpeople to help with nutrition/exercise tracking. Lost 30-35 pounds.

*October 2008: got pregnant, gained 25-30 pounds. Began smoking again when my daughter was 4 months old.

*July 2010: had an "AH-HA!" moment. Was at my heaviest, 250 pounds. Joined LA Fitness. Lost 15 pounds with trainer's help.

*September 6, 2010: quit smoking...AGAIN.

*November 2010: got back on Sparkpeople.

inspirational Quote:
"Our deepest fear is not that we are inadequate. Our deepest fear is that we are powerful beyond measure. It is our light, not darkness that most fightens us. We ask ourselves, who am I to be brilliant, gorgeous, talented, and fabulous? Actually, who are you not to be? You are a child of God. Your playing small does not serve the world. There is nothing enlightened about shrinking so that other people won't feel insecure around you. We are all meant to shine, we unconsciously give other people permission to do the same. As we are liberated from our own fear, our presence automatically liberates others." -Nelson Mandela

Member Since: 8/21/2006

Fitness Minutes: 2,701

My Goals:
I have 65 more pounds to lose. Ultimately, I want to be at 170 pounds (or less). I want to do this because
1) I want to have a second child and have an easy pregnancy/delivery
2) I want to feel healthy and strong again
2) I want to be able to wear "cute" clothes again
3) I owe it to myself, and to God, because He made me in His image and I recognize that any abuse of my body is unpleasing to Him
I would like to beunder 200 pounds by the end of May 2011.

Mini goal #1: by the end of December 2010, be at 225 pounds
REWARD: new clothes

My Program:
Trying to follow a low carb/low glycemic diet and sparkpeople recommended caloric/fat intake (about 1600 cal/day)
Cardio 3-4 days/week for 30-40 min
Weight training 2 days/week with trainer (30 min/each session)

Personal Information:
Originally from Allen, Texas. I am a Spanish teacher in the Dallas area. I love my job. I have been married 4 years and have a 18 month old daughter. I have a family history of diabetes and high cholesterol. I have an older sister that is overweight as well and trying to lose weight like me (go sis!).

Other Information:
I love to watch movies and medical shows. I live vicariously through them. I like to paint, travel, see new things, and meet new people. I love to cook and bake, which has probably created my love/hate relationship with food. I have to learn that not everything I make needs to be eaten by me, and that I don't always have to clean my plate.

Read More About MRSHERNANDEZ55 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 5)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Spark Texas – The Official Team Garland Sparkers (Leader)        
My Ticker:
 current weight: 235.0 
Login to Leave Comment
  • v SPADIVA77
    Just dropping by to say HI!!! emoticon
    2846 days ago
    I love your quote. That is one of my favorites.

    I can totally relate to your life. It is amazing what are bodies can do...and what it will not do if we do not take care of it.

    Good Luck! And all of this work will be worth it in the end!
    3027 days ago
    Hi there, thanks for stopping by my page and for posting such encouraging words. It's been awhile since you stopped by. I'm sorry it has taken me so long to get over here but I've had two very insane weeks and am just now trying to catch up on all things spark. Keep up the great work. Slow and steady that is how we are going to win this race. Good luck to you!
    3587 days ago
  • v SPADIVA77
    Hey girl! Thanks for the comment! The run was good. It was our long run (saturday's usually are) so we did 4 miles. It wasn't too bad other than the hills! Hope you are having a great weekend! See ya monday! emoticon
    3590 days ago
  • v SIRENA3
    Hi: emoticon to SPANISH SPEAKING MEMBERS! Glad you joined us. Good luck with your program & goals! emoticon
    3593 days ago
Member Comments (8):  12Next >