See this image larger
Mickey's Not So Scary Halloween Party, October 2013

See this image larger
Me, Joe & Katie on our trip to Disney in January 2007.

See this image larger
1988, Me, Tricia, Jean, Linda. This is what I know is possible (145lb). If only I could do this.

go to goodies page
Gold Medal
Camping SP'ers
go to goodies page
go to goodies page

Interact with MOIRA222
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

"When I look in the mirror, I cannot believe that it is me I see. When I see a picture of myself, its even worse . . .you can fool yourself a little when you look in the mirror, but there's no lying when you see the film. "

This is where i was at the end of 2006. I'd like to say things improved right after that, but that's not really true. I struggled tremendously, and my highest known (because I avoided the scale a lot!) weight was 299 in 2009. S C A R Y.

Hubby and I joined weight watchers together. He really got it together, lost a ton of weight, and learned better eating an exercise habits. Me, not so much.

In December 2012 after a lot of research, praying & soul searching, I underwent a sleeve gastrectomy. I had the size of my stomach surgically reduced by about 75- 80%. FINALLY I was able to get my eating under control -- portion portion portion and choice choice choice.

Two years later I have been able to maintain my weight loss (from a snug size 24 to a comfy size 12 and sometimes a 10!) but its work. I exercise every day, and try to watch my choices. I get off track, I graze, then I find myself tracking here on SparkPeople. Always my go to. Holiday season is here and I know that I really need to own my actions and my foods so here I am, keeping it real!!!

Member Since: 10/12/2006

Fitness Minutes: 28,486

My Goals:
To get back to where I was when I got married . . . this was still overweight according to the charts, but I was comfortable with myself there.

I need to lose about 100 lbs to do this.

My Program:
I am struggling daily with everything! But at least I have started walking -- we rescued a 1 year old german shepherd, so I take him out twice daily on week days, once on weekends. (sometimes more on weekends but I"m usually too busy chasing after my daughter & catching up on chores & life from working all week)

Personal Information:
I live in Northeast Pennsylvania, am married for 14 years, and have a wonderful daughter and a german shepherd.

Other Information:
I'm a web developer both for pay (my job) and for fun . . . I work on quite a few sites for friends & family.
I also am an avid reader and am glad that my daughter's getting bigger now I can spare a little time here & there to a book.

Read More About MOIRA222 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 15)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 201.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (31):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>