MICH1954

SparkPoints
 
SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Silver Medal
From:
SEXYBEANS
go to goodies page
Happy Face
From:
MISSPEACHES3
go to goodies page
Easter Basket
From:
CARLYNSPLACE
Awards

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with MICH1954
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


My name is Micheal, I am 62 years old and an 280 pounds while only 5' 10" tall. I was raised on a small farm just outside a very small Kansas town (pop. 136). 39 years ago I married an Angel and the love of my life, we seldom leave the house alone, many people joke we a attached at the hip. Let me stress that my wife is in no way over weight, she is 5' 4" and weights less than 130 (although I don't know the exact number), so other than her excellent cooking she is in no way responsible for my weight problem. We have no children and both of our parents are in Heaven already. I was born with a congenital birth defect, I had a hole between the bottom chambers of my heart and a defective valve. I have had 4 hearts surgeries and spent more days in a hospital than I care to remember. In December of 2012 I had my last Open Heart Surgery when the Amazing doctors a KU Hospital replaced my defective valve leaving me with a fully functioning healthy heart for the first time in my life. After given permission I started walking, five days after my surgery I walked a mile without stopping for the first time in years. I walked a lot over the next 6 months reaching the 250 mile mark. Then a family emergency interrupted my progress and for reasons I am not even sure of myself I stopped walking. BUT I have made 2015 the year I start to walk again and have promised myself this time I will NOT stop. I do NOT want to be overweight, out of shape, in poor health or Diabetic when I become a Senior Citizen (65 yrs old). I do have another medical condition, but I can not do anything about it. 21 years ago I developed a constant often severe headache which no doctor or medical institute has been able to determine why or find a treatment plan which lessens the pain I live with 24/7. This condition is the reason I am disabled. I lost my job in 1997 after working for 29+ years at an assortment of occupations. I graduated from Devry with a Digital Electronics Degree and was working as a Electronic Maintenance Man for Deluxe Check Company at the time of my disability. Since then I have tried my best to not become an overweight couch potato. On my good days I try to do odd jobs for family & friends (from mowing lawns to helping clean basements and garages), but my good days are only around 2 or 3 a week so most of the time I am limited on my activity level. I hope my membership here along with the members support and advice can help me get my weight problem under control. I will appreciate any help or motivation I can get.

Member Since: 5/3/2011

Fitness Minutes: 22,549

My Goals:
1. I hope to lose 110 pounds before I turn 65 (Sep-t. 25, 2019)

2. I hope to learn how to live a healthy life style, which I pray will keep me from become Diabetic.


My Program:
I LOVE walking, hiking and riding my bicycle.

I want to learn to eat healthy while still enjoying (in moderation) the many foods I love.



Personal Information:


My name is Micheal.

I live in Paola, KS

My email address is:
mich1954@yahoo.com

Please feel free to contact me if you are looking for a friend or just to ask a question.


Other Information:
My favorite hobbies are:

1. Model Railroading
2. Walking\Hiking
3. Bird Watching
4. The Internet
5. Bowling
6. Playing Pool
7. Playing Card Games




Read More About MICH1954 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 26)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 263.0 
272
244
216
188
160
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (54):  123Next >Last >>