5,500-6,999 SparkPoints 6,611

I sculpted this little prairie dog family. It was actually taken from a real photo.

American Badger drying...awaiting the bisque...he's about 21 inches long.

15 pound, large greenware bowl in threw drying...



High Five


Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with LUVCLAY
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm now 70 years old and married to the same guy for 50 plus years. I was never heavy until I had kids. I had lost 80 pounds, at one time, but gained it all back. I am the proverbial yo-yo dieter. Spark People are my inspiration. My goal is to get healthy "for me." I have always eaten the right foods and taken supplements, but I like my sweets. In the last six months, I have gone toward the lo-carb way of eating. I also am trying Vegetarian 3-4 times a week. I was diagnosed with rheumatoid arthritis about 36 years ago and in 2007 with peripheral artery disease (blocked legs arteries). For those of you who have PAD, you know what I'm talking about. I was able to build collateral arteries in my right leg, but my left leg got worse. I was lucky enough to find the Eximer Cool Laser by Spectranetics and a heart doctor who performed the procedure to save my leg...and had the laser destroy the blockage in my bad, left leg. Life is good...I did not have to have a vein graft! I also am using my stationary bike and doing some strength training exercises to build up my core and legs. I LOVE cooking, reading and writing, gardening, photography, making and decorating cakes, pottery (I have my own kiln and wheel), hand building and sculpture. I also paint with watercolors, oils and acrylics and Scratchboard. Im in many art societies.. Anything artsy will catch my eye, so I'll try anything. I started with SparkPeople, then fell away when we brought my parents to live with us until they passed and then my mother-in-law came to live with us. It was terribly hard for me, as my husband is an only child and she was difficult. She passed at age 90+. Life I had little or no sleep while she was with us and my glucose was ranging around 110 to 120 in fasting. My A1C is good, however. Stress times 1,000! I have been working on that since. I am not diabetic, but close enough to scare I am on a mission, once again! The fact that it's a free website drew me in and the wonderful things SP has done for many! Once I joined, I became so enthused! Thank you SparkPeople!!

Member Since: 6/3/2010

Fitness Minutes: 11,153

My Goals:
To get healthy for ME! To get thin and stay thin for the rest of my life...NO EXCUSES!

My Program:
I exercise every single day of the week. Doing strength training three days a week. Avoiding sugar...tracking everything that goes into my mouth. Pushing myself to get fit and lose weight. I was hypertensive and now my blood pressure is always around 115/63.

Personal Information:
Married since 1965 to the same fella. We have two grown kids and 5 grandchildren. They live within 6 miles of us as do my two sisters. I have lived in Northern Illinois all of my life. Since 1978, we have lived in Woodstock, Il. about 20 miles east of Rockford, 20 miles south of Lake Geneva, WI. or 40 miles west of Chicago. WE have a second home in northern WI.

Other Information:
I have lived with rheumatoid arthritis for over 33 years. I got it when the newer drugs were coming into the picture, so I am lucky. I have suffered from a heart murmur, mitral valve prolapse, dead thyroid, PAD, high glucose, insulin resistance...but nothing phases me. I just get to work on anything that stands in my way. I've always been artistic, but got into pottery in 1999. I have a wheel and a kiln, but rarely work at home. Instead, I take classes at the local community college so I can glean from others work and get out of the house! I have evolved into a sculptor and am teaching myself. I also paint, write, read voraciously, love gardening and cooking. I play the piano and guitar...and love all music. I love photography and had to buy an external hard drive for my computer just to house my photos. I also love the computer and learning...learning...

Read More About LUVCLAY - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 25)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 249.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    I started pottery in August of 1999. I have a wheel and old kiln, but prefer to take at the local community college. No one else sculpts, but I am teaching myself. I enjoy "everything Clay!!!" I've been with SparkPeople for a couple years, but through health issues and taking care of family, I just got a bit off track. Back on, now. Nice to meet you. I am MaryLou.
    2233 days ago
  • v PLPEEP
    Thanks for making me a friend. I share you love of clay but am not near as talented. I just do wheel work. I just recently took a class on making bowles. Learned a lot .
    2234 days ago
    My mother-in-law, who had moved in with us, passed away last week. Life might be back to normal soon. Would be nice to meet you in person. I need some motivation to start my lifestyle change, again! The life I have been leading for some time, now, has been one of bad food choices. Hope to be back on track SOOOOOOON! Thanks for the message. Smiles, MaryLou

    2449 days ago
    Just thinking about my Illinois neighbor. Hope you are doing well. Sue
    2449 days ago
    Welcome to the Writers Support Group and to Spark People. This is a great site where you will receive much support throughout your journey. Glad to have you join us.

    2920 days ago
Member Comments (7):  12Next >