80,000-99,999 SparkPoints 91,352
See this image larger
June 18,2009

See this image larger
Christmas 2009

See this image larger
Daniel, Alex, Emma, Becca, Mischa, Orson, Micah, Eric at Pajaro Dunes

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page

Interact with LLCURTS
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I am a 50 something Wife and Grama of 8. Originally from Indiana - now relocated to California. Most of my life felt overweight - have lost and gained several times, due to inactivity and overeating - some more than others. My husband and I are doing it together which helps.

I have been at it a year now and am much healthier for it. I have done so much more than one year ago. I would not even get on a bike - today we take casual bike trips 15 - 25 miles a trip - pack up the water and a lunch and we are off for the afternoon.

The first 25 pounds was relatively easy - but not without hard work and commitment - the next 2 or 3 lbs a little harder. I guess I have grown accustomed to losing and the commitment has lessened. I must get back to the original hard work of portion control and making workouts more challenging and consistent.

I have been on a plateau for about 2 months now... a little frustrating at not losing - but happy not to be gaining. ;-) I have changed my fitness goals which changed my calorie range and it worked I dropped a lb and it feels like the slump is over.

I would encourage others to re-evaluate your fitness goals often as they change so does your calorie range - always keeping it in check will be beneficial. Just a lesson I have learned along the way. ;-)

Member Since: 8/21/2008

My Goals:
My original goal was to lose at least 40 lbs by February, 2009. I got to a 27 lb loss by then. That has come and gone. I am continuing with the food tracking and exercise and staying with my new lifestyle habits of diet, and exercise. Still working at the last 10 lbs to drop.

My Program:
I thought I was starting slow but keeping steady. But found that the earlier part of my time with SP was the quickest. Concentrating first on tracking my food and becoming more aware of portions and nutrition. I started walking on the treadmill and on the streets much more getting fit. Doing some exercise at home and on the weight machines to work on toning the muscles and fat lost. I have since found I love the elliptical since it burns more calories for me but also challenge myself with using higher elevations on the treadmill and running a bit to change it up.

Personal Information:
I am originally from central Indiana. We raised our kids - they moved to CA and started having babies so we followed them to be close to our Grandkids. Just moved to the San Francisco Bay area in California over a year ago.

I go to a great church in San Jose - Jubilee Christian Center.

Other Information:
"I can do all things through Christ who strengthens me."
The first verse I memorized and it became a real truth to me - something I could grab hold of. It remains to be a stability for me.

Read More About LLCURTS - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 8)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 167.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (263):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>