See this image larger

See this image larger

See this image larger
Current Weight!

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Face
go to goodies page

KRICKY is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with KRICKY
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

My name is Kristen and I'm back on the wagon and trying to stay on!

I've been overweight my whole life and have to deal with PCOS (Polycystic Ovarian Syndrome) and Insulin Resistance.

I am married to the man of my dreams and we have had fun sharing our life together. We both need to be in better shape but it's been hard for us to motivate each other.

I was getting very close to being healthy (I took off 65lbs), but I was surprised to find it that with my successful weight loss, it helped me conceive! I had my little boy, Austin on December 2nd 2011 and I gained 56 pounds with him, almost back to my heaviest...but I grew a beautiful, healthy boy.

I lived most of my life in or around Houston, Texas and graduated from the University of Houston with a music education major and am now teaching general (K--5th grade) music.

In May of 2014, I accepted a teaching position in the Texas Hill Country, close to Canyon Lake, about 50 minutes north of San Antonio. I went from teaching 850+ students with the average class size of 36 to a school with 345 kids and the *biggest* class at 22. I LOVE it!

I am also a licensed massage therapist. I love to massage and make people feel better.

I have run in 2 5K's and one 10K. It was great for me to finish and strengthens my belief in myself. Running to me is almost long as I can kick those negative voices in my head out.

I have come to realize, that nobody can do this for me--it's all effort on my part and I need blinding determination to do it to succeed.

I have been on a program called Ideal Protein since 3/17/16 and for once losing has been a little easier. I weigh in/measure each week and have made an investment in myself, so I do not cheat--and it has paid off! I've gone from a size tight 14/loose 16 to a size 8, which are getting baggy on me! I have NEVER been a size 8 in my life, and nowhere near a size 6---WOAH!

Member Since: 4/28/2006

Fitness Minutes: 43,631

My Goals:
I want to get healthy! I owe it to myself. I want to feel good about myself and not be at risk for things like heart disease, high blood pressure and diabetes. I also want to be around a long time for my son and set a good example for him.

My Program:
I use Ideal Protein--a low carb, moderate protein, low calorie diet that makes your body use body fat as fuel. I have seen my body fat drop from 40% to 31% in the last 5 1/2 months--woo hoo!

Personal Information:
I'm from Houston, Texas and have lived here pretty much my whole life, but now live in the Texas Hill Counrty. I am married to an amazing man, have an awesome son, love to read and write and talk too!

Other Information:
I need to do this for me! I need to take time out of my day to spend some "me" time doing what I need to do--exercising and eating right!

Read More About KRICKY - Profile Information moved here. (Updated September 5)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 171.5 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (553):  123Next >Last >>