The Abode of Shiva,Mount Kailaasa

Goddess Mahalakshmi,Sri Balaji,Goddess Padmavati,Tirupati Temple,Tirumalai Hills

Lord Ganesha,Lal Baugchaa Raja,Mumbai


High Five



KOMAL53 is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with KOMAL53
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I recently lost my husband---we had been married for 41 years.Despite that I still say that Life is for Living---and one can live it by either being Positive or Negative!!I prefer the former--for I believe that while Happiness should be public--Grief and Pain should always be private.Surrounded by the immense Love and Support of my grand daughter, two daughters,their Spouses and my extremely supportive entire Family I'm learning to take small steps to learn to stand on my two feet and become independent again.Also here's big "Thank You" to Spark People which has given me lots of wonderful Friends who are helping immensely by giving me their Friendship and Support in my Journey through Life---now alone.
I have had Diabetes for the past 13 years----from July 1996 to be precise. Since then I have faced problems like Dengue(December2002),Breast Cancer (Lumpectomy done in December2006) for which I underwent 8 cycles of Chemo Therapy and 25 Radiation Cycles and 6 booster Radiation Cycles.The oral daily medication will continue till June 2012.More recently I suffered a severe Heart Attack (February2009)that led to Angioplasty.My main diet is based on Insulin Injections thrice a day(60-65 units/day) and lots of pills.
I am a very positive person who now just wants to keep myself healthy and fit till I pass on.I believe that Life is for living---being Fit and Healthy and inspiring others to do the same.
I follow a restricted diet which has a low Sugar,low Sodium and low Fats base.In fact I'd really love people to give me tips on what to eat----I eat Pork and Beef as well as Chicken,Turkey and Goat Meat.Lamb I can eat only cooked in the Continental or American Style.
My Sugar is a major problem for me 'coz the portion size is a cause for deliberation------too much makes the Sugar rise and too little causes a huge dip----I'm frustrated by the constant juggling of Food stuffs!!!!
I would like to get feedback on Diet-----since that is what controls my weight.I can't do too much excersising due to my heart condition but I do walk 3 kms.each day at a reasonably brisk pace.I am allowed 1400-1500 Calories/day of low Sugar-low Sodium-low Fats food.
I have started tracking my Nutrition Points but Indian Food is hard to track so I just refer to my Cook Books on Spark recipes since that's the kind of Food we eat daily anyway---Dal,Bhaat,Chappati,Bhaaji and Koshimbir----with Meat or Fish added on certain days of the week.I guess that helps to keep weight on an even keel---only the slow process of ACTUALLY losing Weight is a bit frustrating!!!
My interests are Reading,Writing,Painting,Knitting and listening to old English Pop Songs and above all our old Hindi Film Music----those composers were truly fabulous!!!Today I prefer the soft romantic songs as well as the retro-60s dance numbers.Usually I love soulful Ghazals,up beat Numbers and semi-classical songs----mainly because of Nostalgia!!!
I love to travel and have always loved the mountains of North India where I grew up.Their siren call haunts me till I go to meet them and then I come back re-born and rejuvenated to face Life with new vigour and positivity!!The mountains teach me courage and stoicism and like them I want to be unshakeable in my faith in The Almighty no matter how Life treats me.
If you guys feel that I'm the kind of person you'd like to interact with----you're most welcome to mail me. I look forward to getting a favourable response and making like minded new friends.

Member Since: 12/18/2008

Fitness Minutes: 119,490

My Goals:
My biggest goal today is to live a healthy life.Thanks to my various health problems I need to maintain my Weight,Sugar and Triglyceride Levels.
I am trying to beat these three---with hope in my heart of succeeding!!!

My Program:
To maintain my goal I have invested in the AMC Surgical Steel Cookware----last month---- this concept allows total oil-free cooking so I guess that has solved part of my problem. Since the only excercise I'm allowed is walking I'll continue to walk as much as I can.I also have started doing Yoga to help reduce and maintain my weight .

Personal Information:
I am from Mumbai, Maharashtra State, India.My husband is an Advocate(Lawyer)in the Mumbai High Court.We have been married for 39 years and have two daughters Chaitali and Sayali.We also have a grand-daughter Meha. Both our daughters used to live in the United States of America but younger one has recently relocted to London,U.K..

Other Information:

Read More About KOMAL53 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 8)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 179.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (868):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>