15,000-19,999 SparkPoints 18,135
See this image larger
Not much overall weight loss, but feeling so much better than when I started!

See this image larger
Curious Nala! 1 1/2 years old. Keeps me on my toes!

go to goodies page
Welcome Mat
Dealing with De...
go to goodies page
Best Wishes
go to goodies page

Interact with KHFOUR
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi Everyone! I have been fighting a weight problem for more than 15 years and now it has come down to a health issue for me. I have just been granted disability so I have an entire host of health issues that I am dealing with. I joined a health club to work out at when the weather is bad, but I can only do so much in a day, or even in any given week. I am in pain constantly, I am an emotional eater and I need to find support.

I am in the process of stopping my Diet Coke intake. This is huge for me. I LOVE my D.C.!! I am increasing my water intake and starting to track my food intake with the Spark food tracker.

So, I am on my way to start my next 15 plus years on a healthier track. My husband needs me, my kids need me. I need them to be healthier and I need to lead by example. So I can use any and all support that is offered.
I am off for a walk!

Member Since: 2/25/2010

Fitness Minutes: 4,422

My Goals:
1. drink 8 glasses of water daily

2. eat 5 fruits & veggies daily

3. walk and/or train daily & track on tracker

4. track food intake daily

5. Purchase one new fruit or veggie weekly to try when grocery shopping!

My Program:
My overall goal is to get healthy and get off of the 11 prescribed medications that I am on. Even to get off of some of them would be a Win for me! My ideal weight would be 130 pounds, but to make it more idealistic, I hope to lose 50 by the end of the year (2011).

With the multitude of medical conditions that I have, it is difficult to do too much, but on most days, I can walk at a slow to moderate rate. This is what I will continue to do for as long as I can.

I will add in resistance training on the days that I can tolerate it. I know every little bit helps.

I am working on drinking my water, eating my fruit and veggies and tracking everything. I am an emotional eater and a binge eater. As long as I know that I have to track everything, I know that I have to be held accountable. This, along with the great support of the friends and community should help me on my way to my goals!

Personal Information:
St. Charles, Illinois

Married 1986 to my soulmate Ken

Two children
Kory - dob - 5/90
Kaitlyn - dob - 3/93

I have a Golden Retriever puppy, Nala, that takes me for a walk when the weather is good. And we have two long haired cats that we rescued. Edgar is all black, and his brother Figo, is gun-metal silver.

Other Information:
I no longer work outside of the home due to medical reasons. I keep busy with house stuff and have to take frequent breaks to lie down due to pain.

I like to read, typically horror or medical suspense books.
I used to do alot of handiwork like crochet or needlework, but my hands don't want to work anymore due to arthritis. Now, I don't know what to do to keep my hands busy. Any suggestions?

I love animals and would have an entire farm of them if I thought I could!

I love the outdoors and being able to be with nature.

I cannot wait to get myself in a better place, physically and mentally, so I can enjoy the things that make me happy once again.

Read More About KHFOUR - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 3,194.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (22):  123Next >Last >>