See this image larger
Me and my bike! A "before" picture...stay tuned for the after picture.

See this image larger
Out on a club ride 4/21/2007. Jersey is a size smaller than previous picture!

go to goodies page
Welcome Mat
SparkPeople 5K ...
go to goodies page
Gold Star
go to goodies page

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with KESTREL500
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I quit my job of 16 years and started college full time. I have finished my BS in Environmental Issues and am now pursuing a PhD in epidemiology. I am so glad to have left a job I was hating for the last two years I worked there. Since I finally found the courage to change my life I also figured this would be the perfect time to lose that extra 70 pounds and get healthy.

I had lost 60 pounds the first time on spark but unfortunately gained it back plus 5 pounds or so. Now I am back hoping to lose 75 pounds.

The support here is great and I am quite sure that I could not lose the weight without it. Thank you to all those I meet along the way

I love cycling and touring by bicycle but the funny thing is I have never ever done any other kind of exercise. So far all the people I have met on SP have inspired me to eat better and to start exercising more consistently.

Member Since: 10/4/2006

My Goals:
I would like to eventually be able to run a 5k but right now the bike takes precedence because I will be leaving on 5/27 to work on a bike ride across the USA. Perhaps when I get back I'll try again to do the couch to 5k.
I have been riding about 300 miles a month.
Eating wise I am trying to keep it around 1600 calories except for the days I ride 50 miles or more, those days I will probably eat about 2250-2500 calories.

My Program:
I am using the SP nutrition tracker to track my calories and other nutrients.

Lots of indoor and outdoor bike riding.

I wanted to walk but I hate walking in the cold and/rain and don't have a treadmill. I'll try again after the bike trip.

Personal Information:
I am from the New York City area but currently living in Buffalo, NY

Other Information:

Read More About KESTREL500 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated April 17)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 1.4 
Login to Leave Comment
  • v TOOTHFUL99
    Thanks for your words of encouragement on my blog. My youngest has finally figured it out, too, but that oldest son....ay yi yi!! I often joke about how I hope I get good daughter's-in-laws someday or I'll be in big trouble! lol
    3310 days ago
  • v KERSTIN814
    I just read your goal to ride across the country. That is my goal too, but I have to wait until I retire. Can't take 2 or 3 months off and certainly couldn't do it any faster than that. I will have to go with the old geezer team! Can't wait to hear how it goes. You can blog your way across the country.

    emoticon emoticon
    3330 days ago
  • v CATS_MEOW_0911
    Thanks for the blog comment. Your progress is inspirational!

    What are you studying?
    3331 days ago

    Comment edited on: 2/13/2011 10:52:42 PM
  • v DDOORN
    Yhx for the well wishes...!

    Hoping to kick this SOON! Usually a day or two at most and it passes.

    3331 days ago
    The Serotta is full Ti, custom and I'm working on getting it set to my beat up body.
    3332 days ago
Member Comments (73):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>