Me at graduation in 2006.

Bruce our cat looking cute at/around xmas time 2006.


Workout Clothes

Thank You Message

Fitness Magazine

Interact with KAY6785
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi! My name is Kriston. I have been working on improving myself circa December 2003/January 2004.

What I call my weight problem started around the end of elementary school and continued into high school. I am sure it was all the temptation I gave in to when I stayed at school for lunch and went to the vending machines, eating the HS version of a McMuffin and eating a lot of pizza with my friends.

After I graduated in 2003 I went back and did a co-op the the police station as that is what I decided I wanted to be at the time, a cop. I remember looking at the scales and saying to myself: I am 185 but at least I am not 190. When I reached 190 I would say at least I am not 200lbs. I think the top of my weight I was at 215lbs. I remember going to commencement (I finished in June 2003 but you get your diploma at the ceremony in November 2003) and feeling huge. It was quite embarassing. (I may try to dig up my HS graduation proofs. I never did order any pictures, they were quite horrible.) What was especially embarassing is wanting to be a cop and being so big. I had to strength or endurance at all. I remember going to the mall with my mom to get my a winter coat. The one I got was a guys snowboaring jacket, on the inside it buttoned at the bottom to keep out the snow...I couldn't get it done up at the time. :\ I still have that jacket as a reminder of how far I have come since then. Also, it's a good jacket and I only used it one winter!

In December, I think it was, my friend (a petite gal) and I signed up at the local gym. We were each others motivation and it worked quite well. We went about 3 times a week and I cut out all snacking and I think I also counted calories for a while. Anyway I ended up getting down to 170-175lbs. People noticed and I felt better about myself. When I was at my lowest, 170, it was around July 2004. I fluctuated from 170ish-180ish ever since then. Remaining around 175 really.

From July 2004-June 2008 I remained approximately 175. I was in college from September 2004-June 2006 and rarely went to the gym in that time. I do regret it and I know I would have done ten times better in my fitness classes if I had and maybe went to Police Foundations instead of Law and Security. Anyway, in June this year I joined the local Y. I have been going there since. I am down to 157.5lbs currently and I am really hoping to get to 135/140 by July.

When I began in June, I lost inches, not so much weight but inches. I am totally happy about that and instead of a 34 waist I am a 30 (which may be a 10 or so? I am not sure). I have now lost just over 15lbs. I think the fact that our Halloween candy is gone now is helping me with the past few dropped. I figured out I am the type of person who, if it is there I will eat it. I give in to temptation. Since the candy is gone, I haven't been snacking much at all.

I am really looking forward to how I will look in the summer but I don't know if I will get there if I don't change some of my exercises. I really want to use some free weights (I currently use air pressured ones) but I am shy and there are always males looming around and I get scared off, lol. I know what exercises I can do I just need a push, lol. I think I am intimidated by the people who use them as 99% of them are in great shape. If anyone has any suggestions I would gladly welcome them. I would also love other suggestions on exercises you enjoy (ball work, mat work etc).

Anyway I hope this wasn't too too long to read. I thought some insight might help you if you were actually interested what was going on. :)

Thanks for reading and good luck on your own journey!

Member Since: 3/28/2006

Fitness Minutes: 462

My Goals:
I want to be toned. I know if I aim for more of a toned body, the inches and pounds will follow! My goal is to be 135-140 (or less) by July 24 this year. That will be our 5 year anniversary (not of marriage but of being together). I want a smokin' hot bod for next summer! Woot!

My Program:
I have been a member of the local Y since the beginning of June. I have tried to maintain a workout schedule of 3 days a week, Mon/Wed/Fri. I do a hour of cardio and about 30 mins of strength training.

Personal Information:
My name is Kriston. I am from Port Elgin, Ontario. In Sept 2007 I moved to Victoria, BC. I have graduated from my college program of Law and Security Administration and am currently unemployed but actively looking. Other then that, if you want to know anything, just ask. :)

Other Information:
I have been with my boyfriend since July 2004, we live together in our apartment in Victoria with our cat Bruce.

Read More About KAY6785 - Profile Information moved here.

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't belong to any groups
My Ticker:
 current weight: 158.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (6):  12Next >