This is meant to be me at my start weight - I'm already smaller than this! I should get dressed...

this is me at my goal weight -as you can see I've also been to the beach and hairdressers

Me and two of my favorite men.. THE HAIRY BIKERS



Christmas Tree

Fruit Basket

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with KATFRIN
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I was 39 when I joined SP and I didn't want to be fat and forty. Well I had a FANTASTIC birthday but I was still fat. Then I realised that I definately don't want to be fat and 41!! Well guess what I was - I did get thinner and fitter but by the end of 2008 a month or too after my first half marathon and my 4th 10k that year I found myself right back at my starting weight here and beyond. I wasn't very happy.
I couldn't face a lifetime ot tracking my calories. Somedays I'm hungrier than others and the whole thing just puts me in the wroing place mentally. So I felt desperate - I knew that SP works for lots of people, so do VLCDs but I didn't want to go there either. I really wanted to lose weight though - what on earth was I going to do?

Fortunately for me I found another way. So far it's really working and I'm really enjoying the journey. What is it? Well it's a program designed by a chap called Pete Cohen - If you live in the UK and watch telly you might have seen him. Pete has a great programme called PCTV. I can't praise it highly enough really. Pete is really there for you and so are the other people following the programme. I've changed a lot of my habits and the way that I think about food over the last six months. Weight wise my results have not been amazing - I've lost about a stone - 14lb's to you guys over the pond - but they will stay off . I've also gone from strength to strength in other areas - howsabout 12 minutes off my 10k time? The whole family regularly takes exercise together now and I'm did my first Adventure Race in August this year - Two and a half hours running and then 8 hours on a mountain bike the next day.

As far as exercise goes I've found that running fits in best with the family and work so far during Spring, Summer and Autumn ( and far more recently winter - I don't care if I get wet or muddy any more!) . I run at weekends and in the morning returning to the house before my husband leaves for work so I can shower and get the kids ready for school. If someone had told me I would be doing that 2 years ago I would have bet against them!
I am exercising almost every day for at least 30 minutes. I joined my local running club in Spring 2009 - Okay I'm at the back but at least I can keep up with them and I have a licence to compete!!

I also joined a bouldering wall - really it was to build upper body strength for the adventure race but I love going and have kept it up for the past five months. The kids are going to a club there so I hope to have another family activity on the way. Since then I've graduated to bouldering outdoors which the kids and I love - great to combine with a picnic and kite flying.

Member Since: 6/2/2006

Fitness Minutes: 15,940

My Goals:
I want to wear my slinky cycling tops and look good in them.

I want to get under the hour for a 10k.

I want to be able to buy some leathers for my motorbike without them looking like they are still on the cow!
Update 02/08. I've got a groovy retro Purple leather jacket now
Update 05/08 I had to cave in and get some anyway - I was roasting in textiles!!
Update 06/09 Almost in the next size down!!

My Program:
I'm following Pete Cohens programme
see http://www.petecohen.tv/

Personal Information:
I''m from nowhere really, born in the UK - lived in the US for a until I was 6 - (Yes my Parents were aliens but legal aliens mind you they COULD be from outer space it might explain some things). We then went back to the UK and I finished school.moved away from home ot go to University, got ill, went abroad, got better, finished degree, did my Masters, Went to Africa, Came back to UK, Moved around a lot. Got married and had two wonderful children, my son aged 9 and my daughter aged 6.

Have a job - I work 32 hours a week over five days. Things have been hectic since I got promoted and did hours and hours over my official hours..

Other Information:
I really enjoy reading books!! I used to read a lot 4-5 books a week before kids. I used to go to the cinema a lot too! I love anime - but girly stuff like "Spirited Away" and "Fruits Basket" - I really love "Bleach" too

My favorite authors include Neal Stephenson, Iain Banks, Neil Gaiman, Phillip Pullman and Robin Hobb..

I love my bikes. I try to get out on it at least once a week - and will do more once the kids can keep up with me!!

I passed my motor bike test in October 2005 - the bike didn't get put together as my Dh got very ill and we never got around to it. Last year my hub bought me a RS500F so I coudl ride - I love it .

Read More About KATFRIN - Profile Information moved here. (Updated August 5)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 193.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (75):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>