10,000-14,999 SparkPoints 14,831

Enjoying a windy fall day at the beach!


Welcome Banner

The Spark

Interact with JULES40
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi, I'm a 51 year old Substance Abuse Counselor. I love my job, but have been feeling pretty hypocritcal lately counseling people to stop using drugs and alcohol when I can't control my eating! In addition to that. I have 2 painful knees with surgery as the only option. But!!!! I decided weight loss might be a better option and I'm really tired of being tired! I have 4 beautiful children and 7 year old twin grandchildren that I want to be able to keep up with!

I didn't want to delete this as it's been awhile and it's nice to see where I was back then. I am now a 55 year old Substance Abuse Counselor and Outpatient mental health patient. I did end up having a knee replacement 3 years ago, and that was a good choice. However, my other knee is not good and I would like to keep it as long as I can!! I started with Weight Watchers 2 years ago and committed to going to meetings and following the program NO MATTER WHAT. Through a lot of ups and downs (literally) I have lost 92.6 pounds!!! I have about 40 more to go to reach my goal. It has been getting harder and face it, I get bored. I broke my arm right after January, and being me, I used that as an excuse to not exercise. Excuse being the key word!! This week I decided to put an end to that nonsence and I am back to my treadmill. I also ordered the fitbit and wanted to come back to Spark People for some additional and added encouragement. I am feeling so much better than I ever have. This past summer I kayaked for the first time, something I never would have tried before! I am looking forward to some cross country skiing this winter too, something I had also gave up because of my weight. I know have a new little grandson who is 10 months old and a little granddaughter slated to make an appearance in April. My twins are 11 now. My granddaughter struggled a bit watching Grandma's body transformation, but she is on board and supportive now. I look forward to continuing this journey and eventually using my counseling skills to help others in the weight loss journey.

Member Since: 3/17/2005

Fitness Minutes: 35,539

My Goals:
My goal is to create a healthstyle of eating healthy and exercising. I would like to lose 10 pounds about 7 times...which would be 70 pounds total.

My Program:
I am trying to eat a healthy balanced diet with everything eaten in proper portions and in moderation. I am doing water aerobic classes, walking and weight conditioning. I am tracking my nutrition and fitness progress and following the recommend calorie counts from sparkpeople.

Personal Information:
My name is Julie and I reside in the thumb of Michigan. I have 4 children and twin grandchildren. I currently work as a substance abuse therapist at a residential facility. I enjoy horseback riding, snowmobiling, reading, knitting and doing crafts. I also love photography. I enjoy being with friends and my goal in life is to help other people.

Other Information:
Favorite move of the year...Up

Read More About JULES40 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 6)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 586.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    emoticon Hate to see that you have FMS, but so glad you joined Fibro-Friends for support since you do. It took me awhile to get by here, but I am looking forward to seeing you on the threads! BLESSings, beloved one. Darlene
    1369 days ago
  • v DANIGEORGE1908
    Hi!!! My name is Danielle and I just wanted to welcome you to sparkpeople...this is a great website full of support and tools!!! Let me know if I can help in any way! emoticon emoticon emoticon
    3209 days ago