8,500-9,999 SparkPoints 9,357

Green Tea

Fruit Smoothie


Shared Food Tracker
Interact with JRSTERP
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm living in New York with my fiance, daughter, and 5 pets (3 huskies and 2 cats). I have struggled with weight issues since I was a pre-teen. Since then, I have really noticed my weight fluctuating up and down, but never down to a healthy weight for myself. Some of those times of being at the lower end of overweight, I tried a variety of "diets". When I decided to join SparkPeople, I thought I was trying another one of those diets. But, boy was I wrong! I've been learning so much about myself and what it really takes to live a healthier lifestyle...and loving every minute of it!

It's almost been a year since I've joined SparkPeople. So far, I've lost 31 pounds and I'm now in my smallest size ever. At my heaviest, I wore a size 14 or XL. When I started SparkPeople, I still wore an XL in shirts and a size 10 or L in pants. As of right now, I'm in a size 2 or XS. Sometimes, I still get shocked that I've achieved so much.

I'm still putting forth the effort to maintain the habits I have learned along my journey, as well as working on some new ones. I would tell anyone who thinks that it's impossible: "Look at me! I've never seen this version of me...EVER...until just recently. It's not impossible. It does require effort and determination, but it is NOT impossible."

Member Since: 3/10/2010

Fitness Minutes: 3,525

My Goals:
I want to continue to be healthy and improve my fitness level.

I want to learn about healthy eating and fitness and apply it to my own lifestyle.

My Program:
I continue to track what I eat.
Also, I'm experimenting with new ways to prepare healthy meals.

I'm working on a goal of building consistency in exercising at least 20-30 minutes per day.

Personal Information:
My name is Jen. I'm originally from Virginia Beach, but have been living in the Rochester, NY area for the past 15 years. I am an animal lover with 3 Siberian Huskies, 2 cats, and a boyfriend. I'm a sign language interpreter by day, and a dog trainer/sledder by night/weekend.

Other Information:

Read More About JRSTERP - Profile Information moved here. (Updated February 24)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 151.0 
Login to Leave Comment
  • v CHANGE188
    You have 3 huskies, 2 cats, 1 kid and a fiance in an apartment? Wow! Impressive! I had 1 Mal, 1 cat and 1 fiance in my 1,000 sq ft house and went stir crazy!
    2811 days ago
  • v MELA1953
    Welcome to the Everything Paranormal team!!! We are a group of interesting people who have fun and also who support one another!!! We have weekly challenges, and we talk about not only the latest and greatest in paranormal experiences and investigation, but also our lifestyle change journeys. I also post a daily motivation from the SparkPeople Monthly Motivational Calendar.
    So jump right in on any of the threads and let us get to know you!
    Good luck to you on your journey to better health....WE LOVE NEWBIES!!!!!!

    2813 days ago
    Thanks for stopping by for a visit!
    2818 days ago
  • v CHANGE188
    Thanks for reading my blog! Actually the woodchuck incident was really funny. When the dogs figured out how to get out of the house I stopped in the middle of the chaos and praised them for being so smart! I probably should reward them for being escape artists but figuring out how to open a sliding glass door without opposable thumbs is pretty impressive.
    2822 days ago
  • v WINWIN1
    Thank you for your nice comments on my blog! Have a great day! emoticon
    2827 days ago
Member Comments (20):  < Previous1234Next >