15,000-19,999 SparkPoints 18,085

I love this picture, and what a great reason to lose weight!!! Amelia!

L U C Y Lucy!!! A little ball of energy. Look how heavy Grandpa was!

My daughter Anna and I.


Happy Face
Fit Buckeye Fan...

SparkPeople Logo
Fit Buckeye Fan...

Fit Buckeye Fan...

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with JGRAY55555
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

I am a 50 year old HS math teacher that isn't interested in taking diabetes medication, so I decided it was time to get my act together. I started at 314 on 8-15-12, and hit 264 on 12-9-12. I made 249 by the end of February, and 244 on March 27. 70 pounds in 32 weeks. WOW! I had a goal to hit the 100 pound mark by August 2013.

Instead, I quit tracking, and fell back into old habits. Instead of losing another 30 pounds, I gained back 20. No problem I said, school is starting again and i will get it together. Now it is November, and I gained another 10 in the last 3 months. I can not find the motivation I had last year.
So, today I start over. I am really close to my 2012 weight at this time, so I can pull it back together. New goals and a better attitude! A nudge from some of you can't hurt!

I have been the ultimate weight loser, even winning $1000 in a local competition. Losing 40-50 pounds in 12 weeks has been a piece of cake! Gaining 50-55 in 12 weeks is even easier. I did some quick math, and I have lost about 250 pounds in the last 9 years. But, every time I lose it, I gain in back in about the same amount of time!!! This time I have to keep it off. I used to joke that I would never see 50. Now at 51, it isn't funny. I owe it to my wife and kids, and now grand kids to stick around as long as possible.

Member Since: 8/15/2012

Fitness Minutes: 4,854

My Goals:
My overall goal is to lose weight in a sensible manner. Finding the right mix between calorie consumption, and exercise. I hope to get to the low 260's again by the end of 2013, and then hit 240 by May 1 2014.

My Program:
The calorie goals have been the key for me. I am finally working out with light weights and walking/jogging 3-4 times a week for 3 + miles about 3.6-4.2 MPH.

Personal Information:
I am from New Philadelphia, a small town in NE Ohio. I now reside and teach in Wilmington OH. I am married to a wonderful woman, and we have 5 kids spread all over the world. My youngest Anna is a student at Appalachian St in NC, I have a son in Bangkok, a local son, and twin daughters in Albany NY and Los Angles CA. Plus 3 beautiful grand kids.

Other Information:
I am an avid Browns fan, and also Love the Indians and Reds. Besides teaching, I have coached football, wrestling, golf and bowling. I am also an assistant athletic director. Between teaching, athletics and the kids/grand-kids, I keep pretty busy. Finding time to work out like I did 20 years ago is tough.

Read More About JGRAY55555 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated November 11)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
This user doesn't have any public blog entries.
My Ticker:
 current weight: 278.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (12):  123Next >