50,000-59,999 SparkPoints 51,212

Me and Brett - June 21, 2008

Sophie :)

Our puppy, Maggie



Inflatable Tube


Shared Fitness Tracker
Interact with JESSBARWICK
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

I'm Jessica, and I live in Spartanburg, SC with my husband, Brett, and our two dogs, Sophie and Maggie (see adorable pics to the left!). I am a 5th grade teacher, and my husband is a math professor at USC Upstate. I realized recently that I have gained 10 pounds per year ever since my freshman year of college, bringing me to a whopping 190 pounds on my small, 5 foot frame. I never thought I would see a number that big on the scale, and I never want to see a 2 in front of my weight, so I am getting back on track right now before I lose control any more than I already have. I have not thought about working out or tracking my food in quite a while as I have been focused on my teaching career. But Brett and I have been trying for over a year to get pregnant, and we recently had a devastating miscarriage. I know my weight is part of the reason we are having a hard time getting and staying pregnant, and I want to be a mom more than anything so I don't have a choice about my health. I am going to do everything in my power to get back on track, and hopefully lose some weight before getting pregnant again.

Big, lofty, long-term goals:
Lose 80 pounds
Run a marathon
Complete a triathlon
Eat healthy and stay active as part of my regular lifestyle

Attainable, short-term goals:
Lose 1 pound per week
Begin and stick to C25K program
Drink 8 glasses of water each day
Track calories and stay in range 6 days per week

Member Since: 9/23/2007

Fitness Minutes: 38,223

My Goals:
SMART Goals:

1. Lose 1 pound per week
2. Cardio for 30 minutes each day
3. Drink 8 glasses of water each day
4. Stay within calorie range 6 days per week
5. Eat 3 fruits/veggies 6 days per week
6. C25K program - run a 5K in 8 weeks (by August 24)

My Program:
I am strictly following the SP lifestyle change plan - counting calories, exercise, drinking plenty of water, and adding fruits and veggies to my diet.

I am also restarting the C25K program and going to the gym a few times each week to mix in different types of cardio.

Personal Information:
I am from Spartanburg, SC and recently moved back to my hometown after my husband got a job teaching at USC Upstate. I graduated from the University of South Carolina in Columbia where I got my degree in piano performance in 2007 and a master of arts in teaching in 2011. I am currently a 5th grade teacher in Spartanburg District 6.

Other Information:
I love to read, watch movies and TV, listen to music, play piano, and play games (although I get a little too competitive sometimes!).

Fave books include:
Prince of Tides
The Time Traveler's Wife
Invisible Monsters

Fave movies include:
Virgin Suicides
Requiem for a Dream
A Tale of Two Sisters

Fave TV shows include:
The Office

Fave music include:
Led Zeppelin

Fave games include:
Guitar Hero/Rock Band
Call of Duty

Read More About JESSBARWICK - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 27)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 185.8 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (271):  123Next >Last >>