JAYMATTER

SparkPoints
 
Photos
See this image larger
Jess and me, May 26, 2008



See this image larger
My feline family.



See this image larger


SparkGoodies
go to goodies page
Christmas Tree
From:
SIMPLE_TAILOR
go to goodies page
Holly
From:
BOTZZZ
go to goodies page
Happy Thanksgiving
From:
SIMPLE_TAILOR
Awards

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
 
Interact with JAYMATTER
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts


August 17, 2011:

... maybe another try is in order.

-----
February 27, 2009:

Time to get started again.

-----
ORIGINAL Intro:

I'm a late-thirties Canadian guy recently transplanted to Sylvania, Ohio. I am embarking on a few adventures in the next year: getting married*, building a life in a completely new environment, and rediscovering a healthy lifestyle.

* UPDATE June 2: Jessica and I got married in a civil ceremony on Friday, May 30, in front a small group of friends and family. We're going to have a big ol'wedding ceremony on the same date next year.

I've always been predisposed to being heavy -- I was the stereotypical "big-boned" kid who was always a step or two too slow to excel in sports. In high school I changed from 5'9", 165 lbs in grade 9 to 6'1", 270 lbs in grade 13... and just kept on going.

Throughout my 20s and 30s I had several periods of regular exercise, but I was never able to match my eating habits to my physical activity and achieve much progress in weight loss. Now I find myself approaching 40, about to get married, and twice as heavy as I ought to be.

I've been very lucky to hold off any serious health issues related to obesity -- my blood pressure is fine and my cholesterol levels are borderline elevated -- but something had to give.

In late 2006 I walked away from a tumble down a flight of concrete stairs with a few bruised ribs and a sprained thumb; instead of being a wake-up call, however, that event made me even *less* active than I had ever been. Finally this past winter, two sudden trips to the ground, followed by constant hip pain, gave me the kick in the ass I needed to shape up. (I don't like the "ship out" option at this young an age, you know?)

A former co-worker and still great friend has had remarkable success with SparkPeople, so I thought I might give it a try. (Thanks for the inspiration, M-B!)


Member Since: 3/31/2008

Fitness Minutes: 11,446

My Goals:
I want to carry a fit and muscular 250 lbs on my 6'1" frame.

I want to compete in a triathlon before I turn 40 (er, 45).

I want to be a healthy and fit father to my future children.

I want to be proud, not ashamed, of a full-length photograph of myself.

I want to look in the mirror and see who I am today, not the mental image of who I was twenty years ago.


My Program:
Exercise:
* weight training 3x per week.
* cardio every day if I can manage it (swim 4x per week, walking the rest)
* cycling everywhere I go

Diet:
* controlling portion size through knowledge of nutritional content and reeling in self-indulgence
* substituting potato chips and ice cream with fruits and low-fat/low-cal yogurt

Lifestyle:
* stop sitting in front of the computer for hours at a time



Personal Information:
Born: Montréal, Québec
Grew up: Whitby, Ontario
College and beyond: Toronto, Ontario
Marriage and beyond (current): Sylvania, Ohio


Other Information:
I live in a house owned by four cats (and my mother-in-law). Meet the cats in my photo gallery.

Google talk: jaymatter at gmail dot com.

MSN: ask in a SparkMail :)




Read More About JAYMATTER - Profile Information moved here. (Updated August 17)




Shown if member clicks "Read More"








(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 444.0 
445
396.25
347.5
298.75
250
Login to Leave Comment
Comments
Member Comments (223):  123Next >Last >>