Welcome Back

Woo Hoo!


Interact with JANIECAKES44
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

My name is Janie. I'm 44 years old. My husband is John and he is a Defined Benefits Administrator---I am his administrative assistant. I am also a Domestic Goddess, too. I have two children--Tony is 25 years old and in September he will be marrying his best friend, Pearl. Caytie is 20 years old. All three kids live in Michigan.

In December (14th to be exact), I met my husband John. He was living in San Antonio, TX. I was in Michigan and getting divorced. After 10 months of a long distance relationship, I decided to move to Texas and live with John and really work on our relationship. We were together for 2 years and on December 23, 2011, we were married. Soon after we moved to our current place of residence, D'Iberville, MS. We have been living here for almost 3 years. Love the fact that we are only 3 minutes from the beach.

I started my journey of weight loss in 2006 when I was weighing in at 326lbs. After a life altering experience, I knew that I needed to take control of myself and care about whether I would live long enough to see my kids get married and be a grandma to my grandchildren (I.e., spoiling them very badly and sending them home to their parents). I know that is a rotten thing to do, however, that is what grandparents do. I think.

My goal is to get to a healthy weight for my 5'2" frame, which is 140lbs. That is a long term goal. My short term is to get back into a size 14, which is what I was wearing in 2010. Plus, I want my kids to proudly show me off as their mom. My daughter is my inspiration. She is determined NOT get follow in my path of weight. She is the same height and she weighs in at 125lbs. She is always encouraging me to take care of myself for me only and we exchange healthy reciepes. My son and new daughter-in-law are very encouraging, too. Can't leave them out.

I have been through a lot these last 6 years. Most recently I had a full hysterectomy in February and now I am battling the hot flashes, night sweats,a nd depression. I am working closely with my doctor on all of this. I am on hormone replacement therapy, depression med, and a sleep aid. Plus, a husband that doesn't really understand all that I am going through and is learning the wonderful skill of patience at the tender age of 51.

Member Since: 5/1/2012

Fitness Minutes: 1,575

My Goals:
Lose 60lbs, be more physically active, and a more conscienctious healthy eater.

My Program:
Cook my healthy foods, track everything I eat and drink, track all of my physical activity, and to make new friends on sparkpeople to add to all of my current friends I have.

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Read More About JANIECAKES44 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated May 7)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 230.0 
Login to Leave Comment