15,000-19,999 SparkPoints 17,151

Summer 2009--About the Weight I'm at Now

Despite my weight, I like this picture. (So much so that I'm growing out my hair again!)

Winter 2010. My highest weight ever. Ugh.


Jogging Stroller

Flower Pot


Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with HANDSPK
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

It's time to reintroduce myself. I'm not the same person that started here a few years ago.

I lost about 25 pounds on SP, then gained about 10 back over the last couple of years when things got tough personally. I have a pretty severely herniated disc in my lower back that I've been able to (mostly) maintain through physical therapy. But it's been an uphill battle.

Then, last year, my husband was diagnosed with testicular cancer - undoubtedly the most stressful experience of our lives. A year out, he's still testing clean, and I'm grateful every single day.

Whew--all that sounds so negative! Which is not the full picture.

Now that things have stabilized in my life, I need to get back on track for the sake of my health and happiness and maintaining a strong back.

I love decorating my old Victorian house (and my friends' houses!), organizing pretty much anything, upcycling thrift store stuff, and painting portraits.

I adore my photographer husband and my goldendoodles Wesley and Emmett, and I love hosting wine and game nights, going to the movies and planning out overseas travel excursions (Spain is next on our list).

I live in Cincinnati now, but went to grad school at Northwestern and lived in Chicago for a while and loved it.

And now I'm hoping this is going to be the next fabulous phase of my life--hopefully with a bit higher self esteem and energy and a little smaller dress size!

Member Since: 7/11/2006

Fitness Minutes: 26,124

My Goals:
Whew, goals... well, I have two main objectives... I'd really like to get my BMI down below 25, and I want desperately to be able to shop anywhere I want and feel like things would look good. Maybe a Size 8? I love summer sundresses, romantic tank tops, etc, but don't feel pretty in them. I envision a day when I can go into my closet and just choose anything at all to wear without wondering if it will make me look fat.

My Program:
Tracking tracking tracking!

Personal Information:
My name is Kate. I'm from Cincinnati, OH, and I'm an editor. I graduated from Northwestern's Medill school of journalism in 2006, and am politically and socially liberal.

Other Information:

Read More About HANDSPK - Profile Information moved here. (Updated August 23)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 178.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (50):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>