500-999 SparkPoints 740
See this image larger
George and I at Frank's wedding, July 2008

See this image larger
On the beach at Club Med, January 2009

See this image larger
Graduation weekend in Boston 5/20/07

go to goodies page
Fruit Basket
go to goodies page
Gold Star
go to goodies page
Welcome Mat
Official 10-Min...

GERRYD8784 is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Interact with GERRYD8784
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

My plan to make 2010 the "Year of Completion" didn't quite pan out, and with 2011 half over, I still have not made notable progress in this new year. I am still 20 pounds from goal -- a goal I had reached once upon a time -- and find that I still haven't quite mastered the healthy habits that will allow me to reach that goal and stay there without constant tracking. I am re-committing today (7/10/11) to consistency and diligence in making healthy food choices and exercising regularly. I need to do this for myself and I AM WORTH IT!!

The First 2 Rules of Self-Improvement:
#1 - It will be difficult.
#2 - It will be worth it.

"The smallest good deed is better than the grandest intention."
~ Barbara Walters

"I've learned that even when I have pains, I don't have to be one."
~ Maya Angelou

"When one door closes, another opens; but we often look so long and so regretfully upon the closed door that we do not see the one which has opened for us."
~ Alexander Graham Bell

And another quote I love from a fellow Sparker's signature line:

"You can't leave footprints in the sands of time if you're sitting on your butt. And who wants to leave buttprints in the sands of time?"
~ Bob Moawad

Member Since: 10/4/2006

Fitness Minutes: 66,963

My Goals:
My goal is to be consistent in including some fitness activity in my day at least five days a week. That, along with moderate and healthy food choices, will help me reach my healthy weight goal this year.

My Program:
I'm using the nutrition tracker sporadically to monitor my calorie count. I do strength training 2 times a week with light weights, and cardio (usually walking or riding a stationary bike) at least 4 times a week, usually more.

Personal Information:
The middle-Atlantic states are my home. I was born and raised in Delaware, and attended college in Pennsylvania and grad school in New York. We have lived in New Jersey since we got married in July 1974.

Other Information:

Read More About GERRYD8784 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated July 16)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 197.4 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (507):  123Next >Last >>