go to goodies page
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Best Wishes

Interact with GERRIT2
Add as SparkFriend Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi, my name is Gerrie and I'm so glad I found the Sparks site. When I turned 40 I celebrated by having my first (and only) child. He came as a complete surprise. Not to say that I wasn't aware that I was pregnant, but when I was in my 20's I was told by the "experts" in the field that I would never have a child by natural means. I endured 3 years of hormone therapy, and looked into alternative treatment. However, most options were too expensive. My life moved on and eventually after 19 years of marriage I divorced my first husband. I moved into a place by myself and worked 3 jobs to get ahead. Then I met a fantastic guy and got to know him. It is hard to say which one of us was more surprised when we turned up pregnant. He and his ex-wife too had been told they'd never have children.

We feel so blessed to have our son, but I gained over 60 Lbs during my pregnancy. After giving birth I had difficulty taking it off. I made some half-hearted attempts and was almost ready to resign myself to carrying the extra weight forever, especially since my doctor pretty much told me that what with turning 40 and having a child all in the same year. I would from now on find it near impossible to get back to my pre-pregnancy weight.

I found Sparks people in June of 2008 and signed up the same day. I'm getting lots of inspiration and support and am starting to be successful at my weight loss. I'm making healthy life style changes and exercising on a regular basis. Sparks People have helped me make positive changes that I know will last a lifetime.

Member Since: 6/8/2008

Fitness Minutes: 69,456

My Goals:
To lose 40 Lbs and get back to my pre-pregnancy weight.
To become a more health conscious person.
To support others in their weight loss goals.

My Program:
I'm continuing to strive to make healthy lifestyle choices.

Personal Information:
Initially born in Amsterdam, Holland, Immigrated to Canada in 1973. Working as a Medical Transcriptionist and Medical Secretary for the past 20 years. Currently living in the foothills of the Rocky Mountains just north of Calgary. Alberta.

Other Information:
I love to read and camping with my husband and son.

Read More About GERRIT2 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated April 16)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 165.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (33):  123Next >Last >>