40,000-49,999 SparkPoints 47,290
See this image larger

See this image larger
These are my "before" jeans--and they were getting too snug!

go to goodies page
Gourmet Dinner
go to goodies page
At Goal & Maint...
go to goodies page

FAIRHAVENQUEEN is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Updating my info, but leaving my original info below it, so I can remember where I've been. The last 3 years have been very different from what and where I was when I wrote my original spark page info. Been through some very tough stuff, and gained back a lot of weight as a result. 3 years ago we opened our home to our nephew and his then-girlfriend and their two-year-old. They are now married, well-established in good jobs, and have added a darling daughter to their family. I quit my job as an education assistant to stay home with my grand nephew and now grand-niece as well. I did this because my parents also live with us, and my dad was getting to the place where I could see he'd need me at home more than my job allowed. So, for the past 3 years I've been a more-than-full-time caregiver. The past year has been especially hard, seeing my dad through declining health, and holding his hand as he passed on into heaven on February 4th this year. Now, I'm adjusting to having more time. Still caring for my mom, and the two kids, but finding that if I am organized I can keep the house more or less clean to my standards, and am now working at finding ways to get exercise back into my life. Having the kids prevents me from going to the gym, but I am finding other ways. I'm not trying to hurry myself and lose the weight too fast. Just a pound a week will get me down to a good place before the end of the year. I decided that coming back to SP would be a good way to remind myself daily to stay on track.
I was a stay-at-home mom who home-schooled my kids. When my youngest was HS age, I went back to university and finished my Spanish degree. (I underwent brain tumor surgery and major abdominal surgery during those university years, which contributed to my weight gain.) I graduated at age 48, at which time I weighed 213 lbs. Yuck! I spent the following year doing volunteer work, and working out and losing weight, and got down to 145. Went to work as an educator, and the snacks in the staff room were deadly. I put 25 lbs. back on over the next 4 years. In May of 2013 I discovered SparkPeople, and it totally changed my life! I had just turned 53, and was pretty convinced that losing weight at this age was an impossibility. Decided to give it a try, though. I set an initial goal of getting back down to 145, and to my amazement I did it! While eating more than I thought possible on a "diet!" So I decided to keep on and get down to what had always been my REAL goal: 135. I made it before Christmas, and now I'm having the time of my life being a size 6, addicted to exercise, and feeling absolutely terrific. I track everything, balance each day's meals carefully, weigh in every day, and check in with my Transitioning to Maintenance/Maintaining Team. My only regret is not finding Spark many years ago!

Member Since: 5/26/2013

Fitness Minutes: 59,711

My Goals:
My goal was to get down to 135 pounds by the end of 2013. I made it! Now my goal is to learn to maintain that for the rest of my life, because Spark is a plan that WORKS for me!! I love it! Now I am concentrating on converting more fat to muscle, so my bones stay strong for life.

Learn to swim the crawl stroke.

Do 50 "girl" pushups without stopping.

Do 50 crunches without stopping. COMPLETED 2/15/14

Take a Spin class.

Jump on my Hippity Hop from the school's side door clear to the cafeteria without stopping.

Do 15 reps at 20 pounds on that weight machine that kills me (the push-it-straight-up one).

Burn 350 calories in 30 minutes on the rowing machine. COMPLETED ON 2/28/14.

Burn 425 calories in 30 minutes on the elliptical. COMPLETED 2/27/14.

My Program:
Because of SparkPeople I branched out and am trying new things. I now swim at least once a week, and do a strength training session 3-4 times a week on the weight machines, and run on an elliptical, and ride a stationary bike a few times a week. Exercise has become like a hobby, which I never would've thought possible! I have reached my goal, and now have to learn how to maintain my weight. I plan to keep tracking, to help with this.

Personal Information:

Other Information:
I love:
My family
Other crafty things

Read More About FAIRHAVENQUEEN - Profile Information moved here. (Updated March 29)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: -1.4  under
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (80):  123Next >Last >>