10,000-14,999 SparkPoints 10,797

Before surgery

Black Dress Journey


Beach Ball
Saginaw, Michig...

Workout Clothes

Relaxation Music

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with EMPIERCE
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Just to prove things don't always go as planned, we just found out last week that Ken, my boss, has accepted a position at Johns Hopkins University. So, now, instead of moving closer to home, it appears I may be heading back in the direction that I didn't think I would go again. Baltimore! I am still doing really well...I have officially lost my high school graduation weight. My year follow-up is at the end of March, so I am hoping to get somewhere between 200-215 pounds before then. That will be anywhere from 146-161 pounds lost. I will be thrilled when I finally hit the 100's.

My knees are getting better, although they will eventually need to be replaced because there is no cartilege. I had my first cortisone shots yesterday and there is already some improvement in the right knee. The left is much worse, so he said it could take 2-7 days to feel the effects in that knee. We are going to try to hold off until I have reached goal weight and the plastic surgery is done before fixing them because the excess skin can cause complications. He said he would write something up in my records about the leg skin because he can see how it could be a medical problem. The more records I have, the better. I will say that I got some strange reactions from him when I told him what the first doctor told me (no land exercise, etc), but he is pleased that I walk everywhere I feel comfortable now. He encouraged me to keep that up and slowly add more distance as I can. I can now walk about 2 miles before the pain becomes a problem. That's a long way when you consider I could barely walk to the corner and back right after surgery.

Member Since: 3/13/2006

Fitness Minutes: 3,492

My Goals:
I have been very heavy ever since getting pregnant at the age of 19. I miss my sports and being able to run!

My Program:
Gastric sleeve diet

Personal Information:
Originally from Midland, MI, I graduated in 2007 with a Ph.D. in immunology from University of Michigan. I have been stuck in Cleveland working as a postdoc, but recently got back in the classroom. Hoping to find a full-time teaching position soon so I can move on.

Other Information:

Read More About EMPIERCE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 18)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 44.2 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (8):  12Next >