See this image larger

See this image larger
Approaching the finish line of my first 10K

See this image larger

go to goodies page
Workout Shoes
go to goodies page
go to goodies page
Happy Birthday

Interact with ELLIEW22
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

My name is Ellie and I'm officially in maintenance mode!

My story:

As far as I can remember, I've been around size 8-10 and around 145-150lbs. During my pregnancy, I gained about 30 lbs and was lucky enough to lose most of it fairly quickly. I work full-time and my son was never a good sleeper. To make it through the days, I had leaned on Starbucks. Their oh-so delicious drinks coupled with breakfast are one culprit my weight had quickly crept up to 177! I went up to size 12!!!! That's when I told myself enough is enough!

How I got started:

I decided to give Alli a try. No real plan in hand. Oh, and I quit Starbucks! :-) Lucky not to have any of the nasty side effects, I had managed to lose 7 lbs in 5 weeks. I was doing a search on calorie counters and came across SPARKPEOPLE!!! Two days before New Years, I signed up and committed myself fully! (why wait till Jan. 1st?)

I made up my own exercise plan. Partnered up with my co-worker and friend to go to the gym at lunch. I exercised 5-6 times a week. I discovered Zumba! I started running (slowly). I tracked my food and watched everything I ate.

When I started, I set myself a goal to lose 30lbs by my 30th birthday (April 12). I didn't think I could do it so fast and didn't really think I could get down to 140lbs. But I did it anyway.


-Ran first 5K at the end of February
-Ran 10K on July 4th
-Reached my goal of 30 by 30 the day before my birthday!
-Reached all weight goals (I kept adjusting as I met them) by early/mid June
-Reached an all-time low weight of 126lbs
-Can wear size 2 jeans!!!!!! (never in a million years thought this would happen)
-Lost a total of 51lbs since my all-time high weight of 177lbs

I am now training to run a half-marathon in October 2010. I have been in maintenance mode for 2 months and find that a combination of watching what I eat and the training are both helping me keep up with it. So far, so good!

My advice: create a plan, be accountable for EVERYTHING, don't lie to yourself, don't cheat, don't stress, eat food that you enjoy (I'm not talking about junk food or cake here!!), discover your taste buds, do exercises you like, do exercises you don't like, challenge yourself!

Race History:

2/27/10 Freeze Your Buns Off 5k 27:02
7/4/10 Harvard Pilgrim July 4th 10k - 52:44
10/4/10 Smuttynose Rockfest Half Marathon - 1hr44min43sec
11/25/10 Turkey Trot 5k - 23:44
6/27/11 Rosanne's Rush for a Cure 5k - 23:09 (new PR)
5/4/14 Cinco de Miles - 25:13
8/14/14 Cigna 5k - 25:59
8/13/15 Cigna 5k - 23:43
9/17+9/18/2015 Reach the Beach Relay Race (7.3 + 5 + 9.1)
10/4/15 New England Half Marathon 1hr47min29sec

Update 8/13/15: A few years have passed since I went through the Spark Journey and I'm happy to say that I'm still in maintenance mode. Sure, I've gained a few of those pounds back, but some of it is in the form of muscles. I'm at about 141 lbs at the moment. I wear size 4 clothing. I work out 5-6 days a week. My workouts consist of running 2-3/week, Live Insanity class 1/week, spin bike at home 1-2/week; some yoga, some planks, sometimes Zumba (I need to get back on track with this, but 1/week is my typical). I am splitting a full CSA share with 2 friends, which forces me to eat more vegetables. I am mindful when it comes to food. I try to avoid sugar, artificial flavors & colors, I choose organic when I can. I'd like to say that I'm in decent shape, but there is always room for more. I am thankful for finding SparkPeople at the right time in my life. Though I haven't been very active here, I do come by from time to time for inspiration. Rock on and take your health into your own hands!

Member Since: 12/28/2009

Fitness Minutes: 13,654

My Goals:
* Maintain current weight
* Run half-marathon in October 2010
* Tone entire body

My Program:
I am in maintenance mode. I no longer log my food and exercise, but I am watching my weight. Should I see it creep up again, I'll go back to logging.

I am training for a half-marathon and do mostly running. I take one cardio-kickboxing class as week, take a salsa dance lesson, and do one cross-training exercise a week.

Personal Information:
I'm really from all over the place. Born in Russia, raised in Germany, educated in the U.S. Currently living in NH, married, have one child. I lost all of the pregnancy weight, but somehow managed to gain 20 lbs. Working in an office setting and caring for a toddler does't leave for a lot of time for exercising, but I'm trying to fit it where I can.

Other Information:
"Good habits are as addictive as bad habits, and a lot more rewarding." ~ Harvey MacKay

"If you really want to do something, you'll find a way. If you don't, you'll find an excuse." ~ Jim Rohn

"If your body's not right, the rest of your day will go all wrong. Take care of yourself." ~ V.L. Allineare

"Act the way you'd like to be and soon you'll be the way you act." ~ Dr. George Crane

Read More About ELLIEW22 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated October 4)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 142.5 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (200):  << First< Previous3536373839Next >Last >>