80,000-99,999 SparkPoints 86,390
See this image larger
December 2014

See this image larger
I'm more than what the scale says

See this image larger
July 2014

go to goodies page
go to goodies page
New Book
go to goodies page
New Shoes

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with DRBENGSCH2021
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Hey! :) My name is Sara and I'm 30 and in a relationship with my soulmate and love of my life. I'm a Christian.

I'm a Ph.D. candidate and Adjunct Psychology Professor at the moment, I have an AAS in Marketing and a BS in Psychology. I love what I’m doing and cannot wait to teach full-time. My passion truly lies in psychology, teaching, and helping people. I have a few mental health issues that have made me even more passionate about these things. Generalized Anxiety Disorder (GAD), severe Panic Disorder, Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder (PTSD), and Binge Eating Disorder (BED) are all things that I struggle with. They make life more difficult but I am learning to deal with them.

I've been overweight my entire life, I don't know a time when I was in a healthy weight range for my age. In high school, I tried to lose weight but I just wasn't 100% serious about it then. And then in 2011, it finally hit me. I weighed in at 315 lbs, about 155 lbs more than I should be. My size 24 pants were starting to get a little tight and that was really my turning point. During the course of 2 years, I had lost 65 lbs and was down to my lowest adult weight. But, unfortunately, I gained all of the weight back when I let my guard down and did not watch my nutrition. Then in 2016, I got engaged in December and I wanted to look my best for our wedding day. After some ups and downs, I started getting serious about weight loss in March of 2017. From March to June I lose 30 lbs and I was really happy with my progress. I still had 3 more months until my wedding and I was excited to see what progress I could make in that time. But in June I started having a back injury, or so I thought. I tried to take care of it, going to my chiropractor, massage, and my primary care physician. After a month of zero answers, in July I received my diagnosis. I have arthritis in my lowest vertebrae. It was a kick in the face, I have a degenerative disease that is affecting my vertebrae at 26 years old. I went through a sort of depression with it for a while. Now here I am, in the middle of September and I am tired of feeling sorry for myself. I am starting again. My doctor said losing weight will probably help the pain I am feeling and that is something that I desperately want. For some reason, it still didn’t click for me and I let my eating run rampant. It wasn’t until August 2018 that I did something about it and adopted a keto lifestyle. At the end of 2018, I got divorced and that affected my eating disorders significantly. In August of 2019, I was diagnosed with arthritis in my right knee and found out that I'll need a knee replacement someday. In May of 2020, I reached my all-time highest weight, 380 pounds. I knew that I had to make a change if I wanted to live a long and happy life with my soulmate and if I wanted to have a long career as a professor.

So now I'm done. Done being obese. Done having to buy clothing in a special store or section. Done being the fat girl. Done hating how I look. Done with everything negative. I can do this! And this time I won't give up.

Other than my weight, I am absolutely loving life. I have a great family, friends, church, and soulmate who support me in everything. Having fun and laughing is a big part of my life, it keeps me in my regular happy and upbeat mood. :)

I love spark friends and talking to people, so feel free! :)


Member Since: 9/21/2011

Fitness Minutes: 49,343

My Goals:
1. Get to a healthy weight
2. Feel good about myself with how I look and love myself for me
3. Stay positive about my weight loss
4. Never give up
5. Stay motivated
6. Don't sweat the small stuff

My Program:
Strength Training
Healthier food options

Personal Information:
Born and raised in Wisconsin.
Ph.D. Candidate and Adjunct Professor
Love baseball and football
Love working out
I've got amazing friends and family
I have an amazing boyfriend
I have 7 wonderful step-kids and 9 grandkids

Other Information:
10 Pounds: 5/31/2020
20 Pounds: 9/6/2020
30 Pounds: 1/10/2021
40 Pounds: 2/1/2021
50 Pounds: 2/14/2021
60 Pounds: 4/11/2021
70 Pounds: 6/6/2021
80 Pounds:
90 Pounds:
100 Pounds:

Read More About DRBENGSCH2021 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 10)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 304.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (257):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>