2,500-3,999 SparkPoints 3,802

Loving the Washington State grass....Chico

Camping on Oregon coast....Taffy enjoying the sunshine


Easter Basket

Low Carb For Du...

Swimming Gear

Interact with DESERTDWELLER2
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi, my name is Nancy, I'm 69 years old, and I've been a member of SparkPeople for several years, altho not active for the last year or so. Lost some weight, gained it back, recommitted, lost again............unfortunately, my goal of being below 200 by Valentine's Day 2011 came and went....along with several more pounds.

In February of 2012 I joined a TOPS Chapter in my new community and once again became serious about weight loss and health. But I'm yo-yoing these last couple months and decided to return to SparkPeople for that extra boost.

My husband and I have returned to AZ after several years back in our home state of WA. We are so pleased to be here again.; but I want to be able to get back to all the wonderful activities we enjoyed in the past.

I love the Lord and know that it's time to put my faith in action in this area of my life. After all the diets I've been on thru the years, I've certainly proven that I am powerless over food..... I am committed to practicing "Calling out to the Lord when the enemy is approaching" as outlined in II Chron 20 . For me that enemy comes about 8pm every night when, hungry or not, I get a serious case of the munchies.

Member Since: 12/16/2010

Fitness Minutes: 2,140

My Goals:
I have a short term goal of being below 200 by Valentine's Day 2011
Praise God I finally hit that goal on May 23, 2012.

December 2012... new short term goal is to hit my second 10% of weight loss.

My overall goal is to reduce my blood pressure, cholesterol, and triglycerides and eliminate the label of Metabolic Syndrom and Pre-Diabetic.

I especially want to reduce the possibility of any additional coronary stents.

My goal is to be able to move easier, have less joint distress, and be able to return to activities I love....such as line dancing and walking.

My Program:
I will limit my daily carbs to low carb veggies, some fruits and high protein foods and plan weekly healthy menus - writting down EVERYTHING that goes into my mouth

I will make myself do water exercise 3 days a week this winter :-) and a happily 6X a week in the summer.
I will walk ,at least, around the block every day. As I lose weight and moving becomes easier, I will increase my activity.

I will drink at least 8 8oz glasses of water daily.

Personal Information:
I've been married for 47 yrs last July 2012. My hubby and l lived in WA State (Seattle area) for most of our lives (but also lived in MN and CA)......started snowbirding in 1999, and finally made ourselves official Arizonians' fall of 2011. We found a new place to call home (instead of our 5th wheel) in June 0f 2012.

We have a beautiful teenage granddaughter, who we don't get to see often enough; and a cat who allow us to live with him.

Other Information:
I enjoy crafts of all kinds, gardening (flowers and veggies), games, reading, listening to music, bible study, dancing. having fun with friends and our rare visits with family.

Read More About DESERTDWELLER2 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 17)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 198.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (27):  < Previous1234Next >Last >>