20,000-24,999 SparkPoints 22,945

Me after losing my first 55 pounds in 6 months w/ Spark People

Most of My Family - father-in-law, mother, father, husband, sons, daughters, grand-children, & self

Hangin' Out On the Farm


Fitness Magazine
Genealogy & DNA

Workout DVD
Genealogy & DNA

Dancing Lessons

Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with CONMOST
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

Hi! I'm 56, married for 38 years, have 5 children (3 daughters - 2 sons), 2 sons-in-law/ 2 daughters-in-law, 10 grandchildren (6 girls -4 boys) & one on the way, one brother & one sister, & a great set of parents. I love family & friends, and go out of my way to plan many activities at our house for large get-togethers. We have several reunions at our farm and make applebutter, ground cornmeal, hand-churned butter, & lots of memories. I am a founding member of the Coal River Group, with a goal to clean-up, preserve the history of, & promote the recreational opportunities that the 3 Coal Rivers offer. We are working on the Big Coal, Little Coal, and Great Coal Rivers, stretching over 100 miles through Boone, Lincoln, & Kanawha Counties in the great state of West Virginia. (check out our web-site at ). I LOVE FAMILY, kayaking, a good book, history, genealogy, scrap-booking, gardening & preserving the harvest, wood-working, and music. I love to learn new things and do new things. I'll never let fear stop me from doing something I really want to do.

Member Since: 1/30/2006

Fitness Minutes: 2,911

My Goals:
My goals are to lose weight, stop smoking, get more exercise, visit family members more often, & complete several projects I have started & never finished.

My Program:
I have already incorporated walking on the Air Walker, using hand weights, modifying my diet, visiting, & organizing my house. As far as the modifying of my diet, I have already . . . switched to 45 calorie multi-grain bread, use oyster crackers instead of regular saltines, drink at least one cup of mint or green tea each day, added more water to my diet, & track my food. I have gone off my allergy pills (& am doing great except for an occasional headache, they kept me swelled & dry & craving Sunkist Orange soda). I make up a soup made from cabbage, onions, green peppers, diced tomatoes, pepper, onion & garlic powders, & one can of beef broth. I can have it anytime I want to help me fill up. I have also added a Spring green salad to my diet at least 3 times a week. All of the above are good for me & have replaced the things that were bad for me. I have also made myself aware of when I want to light up a cigarette, so have pared my smoking down.

Personal Information:
I am from rural West Virginia, but am sandwiched between 2 of our largest cities (Charleston & Huntington). Live on a non-working farm, other than our garden. We host our family reunions on our farm & love having the family here. Recently had 13 people living in the house, but have now pared it down to 4.

Other Information:
I love reading books about places in history & plan to travel to the places in the near future. Read "From Sea to Shining Sea" (about the Lewis & Clark Expedition) & am raring to travel through Kentucky & see the places he described. I also want to follow the complete "Midland Trail" which has been mapped from the book "Follow the Trail" by Mary Ingalls Draper. This is set in Ohio, West Virginia, & either Kentucky or Indiana or both. I love Native American Indian Powwows. I love to kayak on the calm rivers (Coal & Kanawha) & the lakes around here. I am working with a group called the Coal River Group to restore, revitalize, to document the history, & to map the entire 3 rivers (Little Coal, Big Coal, & what we now call the Great Coal Rivers). My favorite quote is "Life is what you do on your way to dying", and as for me - I have not lived nearly enough.

Read More About CONMOST - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 25)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 213.0 
Login to Leave Comment
    I'm about 5'3" or 5'4" - not sure. emoticon
    1984 days ago
    Thanks for stopping by my blog. I will check your exercises out and see how I do. Thanks. Of course, once on the floor, I would have to crawl to the chair or bed and push myself up. Sexy picture huh.
    1984 days ago
    Hey saw your post on the BLoser blog... very good comments--- hope you're doing well! I feel off the exercise wagon when I lost 62 pounds, too, and I've had to chase that darned thing and crawl back on so I don't totally blow it!!!! Hope to see more of your blogs... after your 3-yr blog hiatus! emoticon

    GONNA LOOK FINE IN 2009!!!!
    3413 days ago
    Welcome to Spark West Virginia!

    We're delighted to have you join us. Please feel free to join in on the challenges, the fun activities and come sit at the Big Comfy WV Couch and chat for awhile.

    Glad to have you with us. We're here to support you on your journey.

    3473 days ago
  • v CODDY123
    Hi! Your post on falling off the exercise 'wagon' was great. thank you so much. Do you mind saying how tall you are? I am close to your age and 5# heavier - so I thought you would be a great motivator - plus I could use some of your great strategies. Thank you so much. emoticon emoticon
    3547 days ago
Member Comments (11):  123Next >