200,000-249,999 SparkPoints 210,441
See this image larger
September 2011, not happy

See this image larger
May 6, 2017 Hubby-Ron up and about in his man cave

See this image larger
Feb. 2017

go to goodies page
Gold Trophy
go to goodies page
50 Plus For AL...
go to goodies page
Stuffed Animal

CHANGING-TURTLE is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment

Hello and welcome to my page. I started out here on SP weighing 210 in September 2011. I needed to lose 75 pounds. I lost 50 pounds with adding exercising, eating more fruits, vegetables and eating way less fast food. June 2016 hubby fall and broke his neck, with the stress of him in the hospital and care homes for 7 months I put back on some weight. I am married to a very supportive man who with his help I think I can do this. I love to cook and he inspires me to make, healthy low calorie meals., I have learned to love exercising. I walk most every day. I like walking and walk at least one mile in my morning walk. Many times that turns in to 2 or 3 miles I just enjoy it so much. I also do Spark workout videos those are really fun too. I do mostly the strength training ones as strength training is very important. I look forward to learning more things every year to be a good role model to others on this journey. --------------------- July 2018 Joined the 5%time,mer Challenge and am very glad I did. One of the tasks was to track every thing you eat. I found out I was going way over allotment even though I was doing portion control. Important to remember track your food. ----------- Aug. 2018 Joined the 5% Fall Challenge and going into this with a better plan than I have had in a long time ____________ December 2018 Joined the 5% Winter challenge and shook my exercise up by adding pedaling on my Hubby's peddler for 30-60 minutes a day, -------- Spring 2019 Joined Spring 5% Challenge and will take off my 5%.

Member Since: 9/18/2011

Fitness Minutes: 115,540

My Goals:
I wear size 10 jeans and I want to wear size 8.

My Program:
I am doing the Every Other Day Diet by eating 500 calories every other day. I love fresh fruit and raw vegetables. I eat mainly chicken, whole grains and vegetables, with a little cheese.

I exercise by walking almost every where I go. I also am going to an exercise class once a month

Personal Information:
I live in Sacramento Ca with my hubby of 12+ years.

2015-Hubby is also working to lose weight and is helping me stay on track.

2017-after hubby's fall he lost weight while in care homes, he went from 230 to 177 at 6'2". He would only eat a few bites of the meals he was served and also got sick with C-Diff. On coming home, with the help of his VA doctor I got him over C-Diff and he started eating good home cooked meals. He has put back on some weight but is still thin.

Other Information:

"She thought she could so she did!!!!!"

Read More About CHANGING-TURTLE - Profile Information moved here. (Updated May 11)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
Current Status:
My Ticker:
 current weight: 169.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (18):  123Next >Last >>