go to goodies page
Parents of ADHD...
go to goodies page
Peace Sign
go to goodies page

Interact with BLKBRBI
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

When I started attending cosmetology school in 1991, I was given the name black barbie because I was so tall and thin. At that time, I was 5'11" at 124 pounds. Oh I prayed and prayed...all I ever wanted in life was to be 150 pounds. I tried eating baked potatoes and drinking milk shakes every day, but nothing worked until......I hit 30!

Now, I am 37 and where did 150 go? I somehow passed it with the blink of an eye on my way to 181. Over a decade later, I am still praying to be 150.

Seriously, the pounds are not what I am concerned about. It's my body fat percentage. Right now, I have a body fat percentage of 28%, and I would like to get it down to 22%. I have a history of heart disease and high blood pressure in my family, and I do not want to be another statistic as I carry ALL of my weight in my stomach and in my back.

I have tried other diets and fitness programs unsuccessfully. I cannot maintain my motivation. I have been doing cardio for an hour or so religiously for 3 weeks now at least 4 times per week. Now I feel that my day is not complete unless I do some sort of cardio I think the motivation has finally kicked in.

I am happy to report that I finally decided to sign-up for spark people after hearing about it roughly 6 months ago. I am a visual person, and I love the fact that the site lets you track practically everything. I am addicted to the site. Now if I can only get addicted to exercise and eating healthy. Your comments and tips are always welcome!!

7/21/08 Update
It has been 3 months since I joined SP and I am down 6 pounds and 2% body fat. I was in a terrible car accident on my 1 month anniversary with SP, so that was a terrible set back! At my weigh-in that morning, I was 156 pounds. Two months after my accident, I am still 156. It seems that I am not going to meet my August 2 goal of 150.

6/29/09 Update
It's been over a year since I joined Spark, and I am back where I started...165 pounds. I started a new full time job December 1 and my diet and exercising has gone down hill since. I am finding it hard juggling full time work and full time parenting. I now know that diet and exercise is a lifetime committment. So, I am starting slow and at a pace that I can sustain for as long as my health will allow.

I wasn't successful at staying on track with my June update. So I am giving it another try after stepping off a scale that read 182 pounds! Now that my work week has ben cut down to 37.5 hours per week, I have worked out all but 4 days this month. In addition, I've hired a trainer to get me off to a good start. Let's hope that I can make it through the holidays. :-)

Still not happy with the results of my consistent work outs since 10/01, I joined the gym last night. I am very excited about this new endeavor for me. I haven't had a gym membership since after I gave birth to my son 11 years ago. I know that attending fitness classes is what works for me. So, here I am at 175 pounds, 27% bodyfat and a 36 inch waist. Let's see what kickboxing and Zumba will do for me!

The gym was fun while it lasted and it helped me to get to 160 pounds. After a year and a half, I let my membership go. My knee pain became to severe for Zumba class, so I am back at the City gym again, and back up to 175 pounds and 28% BF!

I was doing so well on my road to Fab @ 40 until I tore my achilles tendon. I am 1 day post-op and the pain is starting to kick in. I don't know if I will ever want to exercise again.

Member Since: 4/19/2008

Fitness Minutes: 37,130

My Goals:
Goals Met:
Exercise 3 times per week
January, 2010

160 pounds
May 10, 2010
Ongoing Goals:
To track my food daily.

Bucket List:

Black Belt
Travel to Europe
Be a foster parent
Master's Degree
Dedicate my golden years to volunteering.

My Program:
Monday - Treadmill
Tuesday - Treadmill/ST
Wednesday - Treadmill
Thursday - Treadmill/BC
Friday - Treadmill/ST
Saturday - Hmmmm!
Sunday - Day of Rest!!!

Personal Information:
My name is Nicole, but I prefer to be called Nikki. I was born and raised in Chicago, but I spent most of my adult life modeling in NYC. I moved to Florida in 2003, and this is where I put on an extra 20 pounds. I have an 12 year old son who is the joy of my life. Together, we strive to be healthy and fit.

Other Information:
My hobbies include: taking pictures, scrapbooking, card making, knitting, and enjoying foods of different cultures. I do not watch much television, but I really enjoy having movie nights with my son on Fridays. I love music, and I really enjoying dancing. One day, I hope to be able to attend belly dancing classes at least once a week.

Read More About BLKBRBI - Profile Information moved here. (Updated May 1)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 current weight: 164.0 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (146):  123Next >Last >>