200,000-249,999 SparkPoints 215,029
go to goodies page
Swimming Pool
go to goodies page
Cleaning Service
go to goodies page

BKWERM is a SparkPeople Motivator!

See All SparkPeople Motivators
Shared Food & Fitness Trackers
Interact with BKWERM
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts



I do solemnly pledge:
that I will do my best to eat healthy and within my calorie range,
that I will exercise to the best of my ability,
that I will watch my portions and avoid mindless eating,
that I will avoid or limit unhealthy foods,
that I will try to get enough sleep,
that I will stretch myself out of my comfort zone,
that I will always try to make healthy choices even when stressed,
that if I slip, I will get back on track with the very next opportunity,
that I will keep a CAN DO attitude, or ask for Help,
and that I will support my fellow teammates

Because I am a Black Panther
And every Panther has the heart of a hero.

PART 1 - I Plan-----

To get out of the 180s. (Goals)

To reach this goal by AUGUST 18.

To enjoy the experience and feel proud of myself for taking steps to improve my life.

Action Steps to Goals

1. 200 minutes of exercise a week.
2. 25+ grams of fibre every day.
3. No unplanned treats
4. -500+ CICO daily

INFO about me...

I am 61 years old and I started at 264 pounds in 1998 and have been trying to get down to 150 pounds since then. I have less than 30 pounds to go.

I retired last year and have been hanging out at home a lot due to the pandemic. It wasn't the plan. The plan was to get out into the world and make some IRL (in real life) friends due to the fact that I don't really have many. I have way more online friends than IRL friends as I'm kinda shy.

I have rheumatoid autoimmune disease (RAD) and osteoarthritis, which sometimes makes it difficult to exercise but I know that I always feel better afterwards. Sometimes you just have to push yourself to get going and once you're going, the pain often goes away.

However, I've had severe knee pain since the middle of March and am waiting for a cortisone shot, which should help.

I've been married for 37 years and counting. We have no pets or kids by choice.

I'm close to my family. I go to my dad's for dinner and to play Scrabble every week. He cooks for himself and doesn't cook low-fat, low-cal at all and that's what he feeds me once a week. I try to get a good workout in the day of and the day after.

I'm a music-a-holic especially alternative-rock and classic rock and go to a lot of concerts with my husband. We actually had 10 concerts booked last year but that obviously didn't happen.

I love reading. My favourite genres are mysteries, romantic suspense and YA fantasy and sci-fi novels.

I also love reading cookbooks and fitness books.

I love exercising to DVDs and have over 200 workouts. My favourite forms of exercise are strength training, dance, kickboxing, hiking and swimming.

I love native art and most of the art in our house is of the native sort.

I am learning how to grow cannabis.

I am learning how to knit.

I am learning how to play the piano again on a portable keyboard.

I enjoy cooking and love that I can now cook whenever I want and not just on the weekends when I had time. I'm looking forward to trying more new recipes this year.

Member Since: 9/8/2007

Fitness Minutes: 205,903

My Goals:
To lose 10 pounds by the end of 2021.
To read 200 books in 2021.

My Program:
To follow the SparkPeople program.
To exercise for a minimum of 45 minutes a day 6 times a week incorporating strength-training along with cardio.
To drink 6 cups of water a day, minimum.
To limit junk food/bad fats.

Personal Information:
I live in Ontario, Canada with my husband, named Jake. I have no kids by choice but 13 nieces and nephews, whom I love and spoil. My birthday is May 12, 1960 and I've been married to Jake since March 24, 1984.

I'd rather listen to music than watch TV. However, that said, I LOVE All Rise, various cooking competitive shows like Top Chef and Masterchef, home renovation shows and shows that have people trying to find a lakefront or beachfront new home.

Other Information:
Favourite colour: red (then blue, purple, fuchsia and orange in that order)
Favourite book: The Stone Angel by Margaret Laurence
Favourite movie: Benny & Joon
Favourite band: Green Day
Favourite season: Spring
Favourite number: 8

Read More About BKWERM - Profile Information moved here. (Updated June 2)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"

(Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 Pounds lost: 84.4 
Login to Leave Comment
Member Comments (1286):  123Next >Last >>