60,000-79,999 SparkPoints 69,267

I made it to the finish line (even with up to 20 mph winds)!

My two granddaughters hamming it up in the kitchen

My big sister and I trying to take a selfie on our girl's weekend at Holden Beach.


Gourmet Dinner

Happy Birthday
50 Plus For AL...

50 Plus For AL...

Interact with BIGT_56
Add as SparkFriend Send Private Message Leave Comment Recent Message
Board Posts

New Year, New Start (AGAIN)! Time to re-adjust my sails once again.
When I joined Sparks 7 years ago, I was a broken person...both mentally and physically. The support of the wonderful people I met here helped me to heal. I lost weight and gained my confidence again.
Then my life not only got upside down, but sideways and has been a whirling ever since. It has taken me a long time to come to grips with all these ever evolving changes. Just when I get confident in my job, it gets changed again. Since coming to my job in Ohio, I have held 3 positions, and changed teams 5 times.
Friday I start on a new team yet again. All new employees to try and figure out and motivate. It is hard to work on myself when I am constantly having to work on others....but I am still trying. I turn 60 in September of this year and I want to meet the new decade in better shape than I am now.

Member Since: 7/11/2008

Fitness Minutes: 102,938

My Goals:
I joined SP in July, 2008, lost 46 lbs. and was doing a good job of keeping it off...until May of 2010. That is when my world as I knew it ceased to be. In just two short months I had to change jobs (after 30 years), change states (after 53 years) and leave all my family behind. I put back on 20+ of those hard fought lbs. I am trying to get a handle on my eating (and my attitude) once again. I want to lose this "Ohio" weight, I just need to find my motivation again.

My Program:
I have started back on a low carb diet and I am getting back to tracking my food and get my 8+ glasses of water a day. I plan to ride my bike as much as I can as soon as the weather allows. I also am going to an arthritis water exercise class. I have a Jawbone UP2 that I am using to track my steps and I am working up to 10000 steps a day.

Personal Information:
I am from a small town in the mountains of VA. I am 55 years young. I have two grown children, two beautiful granddaughters, one 4 years old and the other almost 12 years old. After working at the same place for almost 30 years, I had to transfer to keep my job. I had to move to another state after living in the same county for 53 years. It has been a tough 5 years for me (with 3 more to go until retirement), but I am a survivor and I will make it.

Other Information:
I love to ride my bicycle, go to the beach, and play with my granddaughters as much as possible. I especially like it when I can do all three at the same time!
I love reading good mysteries, watching British mystery shows, and listening to good rock music...old or new.

Read More About BIGT_56 - Profile Information moved here. (Updated January 13)

Shown if member clicks "Read More"
My Goals:

My Program:

Personal Information:

Other Information:

Personal Signature: (Shown after Message Board Posts)
Add a Link
Save Changes
My Ticker:
 May Minutes: 0
Login to Leave Comment
    Just wanted to stop by and say hi from the 50= for all team and thank you for always posting the places we visit it OZ on the virtual trip across it! Really is an awesome place and fun to see those places as we go along!! Have a great day! emoticon emoticon
    1927 days ago
    Thank you for the goodie and for the friend add!! I'm here anytime!~! emoticon
    1954 days ago

    Comment edited on: 1/17/2013 7:35:31 AM
    Thank you .!!!! emoticon emoticon
    1955 days ago
    Thanks for your comments on my "frenzy". I am calmer today after spending more time in the kitchen. You are right that we are blessed. We have shared many things over the years some sad, many happy, but, we will always be family! Wishing you and your family a wonderful and peaceful Thanksgiving. emoticon emoticon
    2017 days ago
  • v DUTCH1811
    Terrie... I had a good time with my mother and nephew today. I spent 6 hours there. It was nice. I spent time with my mother. Then we all went out for lunch. I had a salad that had cold steamed veggies and grilled chicken on a bed of lettuce. I ate the veggies first. I was surprised that I liked them. It was Broccoli, Zucchini and Carrots. That on top of lettuce, cucumbers and tomatoes. Then we walked through the 99 cent only store. Not real exercise but at least we did not just sit around. Then my nephew drove us though some of our old neighborhoods. We did move a lot. But it was fun to see all the old places I used to live and how much things have changed.
    2035 days ago
Member Comments (340):  < Previous12345Next >Last >>